BBO Discussion Forums: Explanation required when no agreement exists? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Explanation required when no agreement exists?

#1 User is offline   pitack 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2014-April-26, 12:39

I'm brand new to BBO (12 logins) and was playing in an Indy tournament with the auction 1 (p) 2 (p) ? to me. My hand was:

xxx
AJ9xx
KQ10x
A

FWIW, I liked my hand and decided to explore game with 3, presuming no conventional game tries would apply in such a tournament. LHO (with a large number attached to his profile) asked for an explanation. I replied "no agreement". He persisted with "you must explain if asked". I was taken aback by this follow-up, but replied "natural", at which point he summoned the TD. After the hand LHO said that we self-alert here.

My questions are:
  • Did I need to alert 3?
  • Was my "no agreement" response insufficient?
  • Should I have even answered the follow-up?
  • Was my LHO reasonable, including calling the TD?

Thanks!

#2 User is offline   mgoetze 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Sleeping, Eating

Posted 2014-April-26, 14:18

1. No.
2. No.
3. No.
4. No.
"One of the painful things about our time is that those who feel certainty are stupid, and those with any imagination and understanding are filled with doubt and indecision"
    -- Bertrand Russell

#3 User is offline   inquiry 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2014-April-26, 15:43

View Postmgoetze, on 2014-April-26, 14:18, said:

1. No.
2. No.
3. No.
4. No.

1. No
2. Yes
3. No
4. No