• You cannot reply to this topic

Is Bridge addictive?

#1 User is offline   Lesh18 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2013-December-20, 18:53

Hi all

Is Bridge addictive?

I started playing in a Bridge club and the players were ok but they looked over-enthusiastic about the game and many of them told me: It's great you joined, you'll love it it's really addictive!

Ok then, I played in the club for a couple of times, and I found it exhausting: we were playing for 3 hours and did about 22 boards per evening. After the session I was completely exhausted, my energy was drained and I felt no fulfilment at all! (Let's face, once I left the club all my bridge skills and abilities were pretty useless in everyday life).

Then I was ok for a couple of days until the next session was about to take place. The only thing I could think about was Bridge and how I'm gonna play in the club. Honestly, it's really adrenaline rushing (especially to play a declarer) especially when you're a novice and want to play as well as possible. I went to bed and I couldn't fall asleep until like 5am - my mind was only thinking about my play at the table next day.

The game is endless, the more you play it the more stupid you feel, the more bidding conventions you learn the more incompetent you feel, as new and new problems arise and you try to learn more and you end up knowing less. There is a video on Youtube on a bridge tournament (with Warren Buffet taking part) and there is a lady, whose daughter says she (the lady) plays 11 hours straight and can't stop! I have played many other board games, like chess, backgammon and it all got boring after a while, but Bridge just seems to keep you hooked up.

Do you have the same experience? Do you find Bridge addictive? How to you manage? Is it a good or a bad thing to be addicted to Bridge?

#2 User is offline   diana_eva 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2013-December-20, 19:05