BBO Discussion Forums: How to respond (SAYC) - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

How to respond (SAYC)

#1 User is offline   Keith22 

• Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Interests:Playing piano

Posted 2013-October-11, 13:08

I'm a beginner and am learning to bid using the ACBL book Bidding in the 21st Century, which teaches SAYC. Suppose partner opens 1 and I have the following hand: A82 KT2 AT6 7653. I have 11 HCP and no distribution points and fall into the 10-11 point invitational response range. I have too many points to respond 1NT, too few points to respond 2NT (SAYC requires 13-15 HCP to respond 2NT), and no suit to bid. If I bid 2, I suggest a minimum response, and if I bid 3, I suggest real support for clubs, which I don't have.

Which is the best (or least undesirable) response I could make?

#2 User is offline   neilkaz 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Backgammon, Bridge, Hockey

Posted 2013-October-11, 13:48

View PostKeith22, on 2013-October-11, 13:08, said:

I'm a beginner and am learning to bid using the ACBL book Bidding in the 21st Century, which teaches SAYC. Suppose partner opens 1 and I have the following hand: A82 KT2 AT6 7653. I have 11 HCP and no distribution points and fall into the 10-11 point invitational response range. I have too many points to respond 1NT, too few points to respond 2NT (SAYC requires 13-15 HCP to respond 2NT), and no suit to bid. If I bid 2, I suggest a minimum response, and if I bid 3, I suggest real support for clubs, which I don't have.

You should tell a white lie and bid 1 and then you can rebid 2NT to invite.

#3 User is offline   Stephen Tu 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2013-October-11, 13:58

One of the things you'll learn is that SAYC has a lot of bidding holes in it. This hand falls into one of them. Basically you have a choice between one of:
- 3 (limit raise in SAYC) right on range, one fewer club than one would normally want