• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Tennis question Djokovic vs Nadal

#1 User is offline   Fluffy 

• World International Master without a clue
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2013-June-08, 08:04

So I was watching Djokovic vs Nadal, and I saw a couple of statistics, they were kinda equal, for the first set, they were like:

First Serve in: 70%
First Serve point won: 73%
Second serve point won: 50%

Looking at this it looks like shooting second serve as if it was first serve would give you better chances than assuring the shoot.

I am not a big expert so maybe I am overlooking something, I could imagine that a double fault is too bad because you get tired while the other is not, and perhaps there is a psychological factor attached, but I am not really sure.

Also the percentages dropped down later on, so this could only be true for first set, or even first games of first set. But anyway, I also believe an important part of the points lost with seconds serve comes from the opponent expecting a safe shot rather than a hard one. This means a mixed strategy should kick ass, but didn't see anything close to that.

#2 User is offline   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2013-June-08, 08:13

I can also believe that there would be a difference in these stats if you looked at serving to deuce and advantage courts. It might well be that the strategy might want to be more complicated than that, for example, you might want to do it differently serving at:

0-40
40-0
30-40
40-30

to the same court. I can believe that there are positions where you might want to just serve huge, and others where you might want to take a little bit off your first serve to try to get a serve that you win 60% of points on in 60% of the time for your first one.

#3 User is offline   Winstonm 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Art, music

Posted 2013-June-08, 11:42