BBO Discussion Forums: How to play partial contracts - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

How to play partial contracts

#1 User is offline   markyears 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2012-June-23, 09:47

I'm a novice in bridge but not a completely beginner. Since I know a little sayc, a little declarer play, a little defense... But at the current stage, the most difficult part for me is to play partial contracts. Most of the introductory materials about declarer play focus on game or slam. But I feel partial contracts extremely puzzling.

Because in a game contract, I usually have dominated HCP or/and a good fit, I can plan the play before trick 1. Maybe my plan is far away from the optimal, but it's a plan. If I go down, I usually can figure out what was wrong, maybe a wrong finesse or entry management.
But in a partial contract, especially 1nt and 2 suit, hcps are balanced and trump fit is sometimes only 4-3. The suit combinations have many holes and I can't count losers and winners before I start. I don't know how to plan the play: there are just too many possibilities and I cannot get a clear picture.

So here are my questions: 1. Is this a common problem many novices have? 2. Should I stop worrying the partial contract play because I'm still a beginner? 3. If not, could anybody recommend any books or materials that I can improve or at least become a little more comfortable about partial contract play?

#2 User is offline   Fluffy 

• World International Master without a clue
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-June-23, 10:26

because of the many combinations part scores are played more "intuitively" than other contracts. There are many people who think 1NT is the hardest contract of all.

Some basic principles might help you.