BBO Discussion Forums: Nice play partner! - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Nice play partner!

#1 User is offline   Phil 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,071
  • Joined: 2008-December-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Texas, USA
  • Interests:Getting back into golf after a very long layoff.

Posted 2012-May-04, 08:42

I played a few practice matches with Mark Leonard last night. See you can duplicate his nice defense on this one:



You lead the T, which declarer wins the A. Partner plays the 3.

Declarer draws three rounds of trump. Partner follows once and pitches the 5 and 6 on the 2nd and 3rd.

Declarer leads the 3. Do you duck this? If you win, what do you play next?
Hi y'all!

Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.
0

#2 User is offline   wyman 

  • Redoubling with gusto
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,712
  • Joined: 2009-October-19
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV
  • Interests:Math, Bridge, Beer. Often at the same time.

Posted 2012-May-04, 08:57

Spoiler


This doesn't seem that hard when posed as a problem, but it's certainly nice to get right at the table. WTG markleon.
"I think maybe so and so was caught cheating but maybe I don't have the names right". Sure, and I think maybe your mother .... Oh yeah, that was someone else maybe. -- kenberg

"...we live off being battle-scarred veterans who manage to hate our opponents slightly more than we hate each other.” -- Hamman, re: Wolff
0

#3 User is offline   CSGibson 

  • Tubthumper
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,835
  • Joined: 2007-July-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, OR, USA
  • Interests:Bridge, pool, financial crime. New experiences, new people.

Posted 2012-May-04, 08:58

what are our carding agreements? I mean, wyman's analysis seems right, and you can use bridge logic to get there, but if you give a defensive play problem and bother to give partner's spot cards, I think including the carding agreements are nice too.
Chris Gibson
1

#4 User is offline   Fluffy 

  • World International Master without a clue
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 17,353
  • Joined: 2003-November-13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:madrid

Posted 2012-May-04, 09:13

counting to 11 if I duck is not so hard, declarer could had played a bit better.
1

#5 User is offline   mikeh 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,578
  • Joined: 2005-June-15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, wine (red), cooking, reading eclectically but insatiably, travelling, making bad posts.

Posted 2012-May-04, 09:23

It was a wpd moment, but I would think that any good player who is thinking properly would get this right. At the risk of sounding condescending, this is really a case of avoiding an error by thinking carefully. Any play but rising the A and leading the club Q would be 'obvious' errors to an expert.
'one of the great markers of the advance of human kindness is the howls you will hear from the Men of God' Johann Hari
0

#6 User is offline   ArtK78 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 7,754
  • Joined: 2004-September-05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Galloway NJ USA
  • Interests:Bridge, Poker, participatory and spectator sports.
    Occupation - Tax Attorney in Atlantic City, NJ.

Posted 2012-May-04, 09:27

View Postmikeh, on 2012-May-04, 09:23, said:

It was a wpd moment, but I would think that any good player who is thinking properly would get this right. At the risk of sounding condescending, this is really a case of avoiding an error by thinking carefully. Any play but rising the A and leading the club Q would be 'obvious' errors to an expert.

+1
0

#7 User is offline   inquiry 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 14,563
  • Joined: 2003-February-13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amelia Island, FL
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2012-May-04, 09:45

View PostPhil, on 2012-May-04, 08:42, said:

Declarer leads the 3. Do you duck this? If you win, what do you play next?

Declarer has one spade, eight diamonds, and in all likelyhood (even without signals from partner) only one or two hearts (didn't play in the major). Since he asked for aces quickly, he rates not to have a heart void, and since he didn't go to slam, not the club ace.

The defense is very clear. Win the heart ace, switch to the club queen. This works if declarer is 1183 even if declarer has the club jack, or 1282 but in which case partner needs the club jack.
--Ben--

#8 User is offline   wyman 

  • Redoubling with gusto
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,712
  • Joined: 2009-October-19
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV
  • Interests:Math, Bridge, Beer. Often at the same time.

Posted 2012-May-04, 09:48

Also, he rates to not have a heart void when he leads the 3.
"I think maybe so and so was caught cheating but maybe I don't have the names right". Sure, and I think maybe your mother .... Oh yeah, that was someone else maybe. -- kenberg

"...we live off being battle-scarred veterans who manage to hate our opponents slightly more than we hate each other.” -- Hamman, re: Wolff
1

#9 User is offline   ArtK78 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 7,754
  • Joined: 2004-September-05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Galloway NJ USA
  • Interests:Bridge, Poker, participatory and spectator sports.
    Occupation - Tax Attorney in Atlantic City, NJ.

Posted 2012-May-04, 09:50

View Postwyman, on 2012-May-04, 09:48, said:

Also, he rates to not have a heart void when he leads the 3.

I don't know about this. He could be very tricky. :)
1

#10 User is offline   Hanoi5 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,069
  • Joined: 2006-August-31
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago, Chile
  • Interests:Bridge, Video Games, Languages, Travelling.

Posted 2012-May-04, 09:54

View Postwyman, on 2012-May-04, 09:48, said:

Also, he rates to not have a heart void when he leads the 3.


Changing my sig

 wyman, on 2012-May-04, 09:48, said:

Also, he rates to not have a heart void when he leads the 3.


 rbforster, on 2012-May-20, 21:04, said:

Besides playing for fun, most people also like to play bridge to win


Mi Blog

In all fields of endeavour emotion is the arch-enemy of judgement.

Kelsey
0

#11 User is offline   ahydra 

  • AQT92 AQ --- QJ6532
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,665
  • Joined: 2009-September-09
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2012-May-04, 10:15

On a tangential note, can someone explain why North did not bid 5C, given that 4NT normally offers a choice of minors? My guess is that this pair was playing 4NT differently?

As for wyman's comment, I was going to link the webpage that has the definition of "invoke" (to follow suit when you can't), but can't seem to find it. :(

ahydra
0

#12 User is offline   Phil 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,071
  • Joined: 2008-December-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Texas, USA
  • Interests:Getting back into golf after a very long layoff.

Posted 2012-May-04, 11:28

Carding is udca, but youve got a pretty count at this point don't you?
Hi y'all!

Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.
0

#13 User is offline   Phil 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,071
  • Joined: 2008-December-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Texas, USA
  • Interests:Getting back into golf after a very long layoff.

Posted 2012-May-04, 11:30

View Postmikeh, on 2012-May-04, 09:23, said:

It was a wpd moment, but I would think that any good player who is thinking properly would get this right. At the risk of sounding condescending, this is really a case of avoiding an error by thinking carefully. Any play but rising the A and leading the club Q would be 'obvious' errors to an expert.


Not condescending at all Mike.

This was really just a brag hand for my pard - with an instructional element.
Hi y'all!

Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.
0

#14 User is offline   JLOGIC 

  • 2011 Poster of The Year winner
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 6,002
  • Joined: 2010-July-08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2012-May-04, 14:08

Instructive element...counting is good at bridge.
0

#15 User is offline   Foxx 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 338
  • Joined: 2003-February-15
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:La Jolla, California
  • Interests:Being quick, brown, and foxy; Jumping over lazy dogs

Posted 2012-May-04, 18:25

View Postahydra, on 2012-May-04, 10:15, said:

As for wyman's comment, I was going to link the webpage that has the definition of "invoke" (to follow suit when you can't), but can't seem to find it. :(



http://www.rpbridge.net/3y01.htm
0

#16 User is offline   jbaptistec 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 2011-August-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Other card and board games, theoretical computer science (complexity and games theory)

Posted 2012-May-05, 17:21

I think there is a defense that gives additional chances if you know declarer is 1282 : you can return a low club after winning the A (best on the second round), declarer with Jx might rise with the King as you would defend the same way with AT8.

However for this you must be sure declarer is 1282 (if he is 1183 with Jxx he can win by inserting the 9 from dummy), and give very honest count so that partner plays the J with AJxx.
Tired of red/black ♠♥♦♣.
For 4 suits, why not 4 colors ?
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users