• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Competition Master Points

#1 User is offline   bootface 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2012-April-09, 16:01

[size="7"]Hello:

I've been playing bridge for decades but I'm new to competition bridge (BBO) and Master Points. I don't have a clue how the MP% is calculated. In a competition today, I had 12 high card points and my partner had 9. We bravely bid up to and made 4 hearts. However, the results showed that while we had earned 420 game points, our MP% was only 27.2% while the opposition got 72.8%. This doesn't seem to make any sense. In the next game, the opposition had about 28 high card points between them, they bid and made 4 spades and got 84% while we only got 16%. So, it seems you lose points for good play? Can anyone explain?

Thanks
[/size]

#2 User is offline   mgoetze 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Sleeping, Eating

Posted 2012-April-09, 16:05

Explanation of MP scoring

Click on "other tables" to see how your good play compared with other tables. Your 420 may well have compared poorly with some 450s for example.
"One of the painful things about our time is that those who feel certainty are stupid, and those with any imagination and understanding are filled with doubt and indecision"
    -- Bertrand Russell

#3 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2012-April-09, 16:10

If you've mostly played rubber bridge, you may want to play in IMP tourneys rather than MP tourneys for a while. The scoring there is more reflective of what you're used to: a big bridge score difference will result in a big IMP difference, a small bridge score difference results in a small IMP difference.

But if you're planning on playing in f2f pair tourneys, they're almost always scored MP, so you should get used to it.

#4 User is offline   fuburules3 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2012-April-09, 16:25