Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Help, Looking for an answer

#1 User is offline   lagpan 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2012-March-06, 16:14

I am fairly new to BBO and this may not be in the right section.
I was playing in a tournament game with 3 robots and this happened in one of the hands:
North: S-10853 H-J3 D-J9542 C-Q7
South: S-K H-A875 D-AK87 C-J1094
Bidding: E:1NT S:2D N:2S S:2NT N:4S
Result: 4 Down for the last palce for that hand (0% in MP scoring)
Is 2NT bid wrong? What encouraged the robot to be so aggressive?
How should I have bid to be finally playing in 2NT or 3D. In the tables where the contract was 3D (which was made), south passed in the 1st round and joined the bidding in the 2nd round and N bid 3D. My profile states I play SAYC, if that makes a difference. Thank you for your time and help. -- Al (User name: lagpan)

#2 User is offline   Statto 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Bridge, Poker, but not in conflation.
    Statistics, but not massaged by the media.

Posted 2012-March-06, 17:15

GIB (the robot) plays Cappelletti so 2 would be conventional showing both majors. I'm not sure what 2NT should mean in this context, but I guess GIB took it as a distributional slam try and bid 4 to show no interest in slam.

The full GIB system is here. GIB only plays that, regardless of what is on your profile.

Even if playing natural over 1NT, I would never overcall on a 4-card suit. As you're not quite strong enough to double, the best action is to pass - you have some chance of defeating 1NT anyway, and partner may still be able to act with a good suit.
A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem – Albert Einstein

#3 User is offline   inquiry 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Interests:Bridge, what else?

Posted 2012-March-06, 23:43

Here is a link to the gib (robot) bidding method. gib convention card