BBO Discussion Forums: Conventions to learn? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Conventions to learn? Also, dealing with interference?

#1 User is offline   chalks 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2011-December-03, 14:07

I know (and use regularly):
stayman, transfers, jacoby 2nt, and blackwood (not RKCB).

If my partner likes them, I can usually get by with (though I sometimes have to look these up still):
michaels, unusual 2nt, gerber, RKCB

All this knowledge lets me do fairly decently when playing with most others on BBO. I feel like my knowledge could use some expanding though. I find myself missing slams and easy games because I let things die at game or the 2 level respectively. I usually get into positive IMPs when playing with random people, but I recently started playing the tourneys, and the higher competitiveness scares me away from good contracts.

I guess I have two questions:

What conventions should I learn?
How do I deal with stiff interference?

#2 User is offline   babalu1997 

• Duchess of Malaprop
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:i am not interested

Posted 2011-December-03, 14:27

the sad truth is, all conventions have quite a number of variations
no matter how many you learn it sure is not going to reduce the number of random partners who call you stupid, or bad player or decrease your losses. sometimes the reason they leave the table is because they made the wrong bid themselves!!! (for you-- if you think your sayc-- it is wrong; for them a perfectly normal bid in acol or precision}

what you have to do is find a regular partner, which is nearly impossible online

or a semi-regular one, and win the odd games.

If you do find the semi-regular ones, who do not complain at your mistakes, ignore his silly bids, and win the odd games, criticizing will not make him play better.

other than that, cultivate a non play list.