BBO Discussion Forums: Tollemache Qual 2 (EBU) - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Tollemache Qual 2 (EBU) "Bid one under" again

#1 User is offline   VixTD 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,052
  • Joined: 2009-September-09

Posted 2011-November-29, 08:48


Inter-county teams-of-eight, cross-IMPs -> VPs

3NT (alerted) = 13-16 pts with a long major
4 = request to bid one step below the major held
4 = forgotten the system

Result: 5(S)-1, NS -100

EW called the TD (again, not me) at the end of play, and asked for a ruling. Can you see any reason to adjust the score?
0

#2 User is offline   BunnyGo 

  • Lamentable Bunny
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,505
  • Joined: 2008-March-01
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, ME

Posted 2011-November-29, 09:06

I am not a TD, but why is North bidding 5? Is it a bid to accommodate his partner's misbid? Otherwise it seems like a strange bid.
Bridge Personality: 44 44 43 34

Never tell the same lie twice. - Elim Garek on the real moral of "The boy who cried wolf"
0

#3 User is offline   jnichols 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 127
  • Joined: 2006-May-05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carmel, IN, USA

Posted 2011-November-29, 09:15

And why is South bidding 5?
John S. Nichols - Director & Webmaster
Indianapolis Bridge Center
0

#4 User is offline   campboy 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,347
  • Joined: 2009-July-21

Posted 2011-November-29, 09:22

I think we need to know more about the methods. If, for example, 4 is an absolute signoff in this sequence (as seems like a sensible agreement) then 5 makes it clear that South has misbid in some way.

I don't think there can be any problem with the 5 bid itself, since South doesn't have UI and can't be fielding anything.
0

#5 User is offline   Oof Arted 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 258
  • Joined: 2009-April-06

Posted 2011-November-29, 09:27

mmmm

James its not the same ruddy pair forn your nuber 1 is it

If so 60/30 em
0

#6 User is offline   RMB1 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,841
  • Joined: 2007-January-18
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Exeter, UK
  • Interests:EBU/EBL TD
    Bridge, Cinema, Theatre, Food,
    [Walking - not so much]

Posted 2011-November-29, 09:39

View PostVixTD, on 2011-November-29, 08:48, said:

3NT (alerted) = 13-16 pts with a long major
4 = request to bid one step below the major held
4 = forgotten the system


It is not clear if these were responses to questions or just a description of the calls.

I assume that only 3NT was alerted and no explanations were given during the auction, so North/South had no UI.

... in which case the only adjustment would be a fielded misbid for AVE-/AVE+,
but it looks like NS have already lost the comparisons by more than the relevant amount.

This post has been edited by RMB1: 2011-November-29, 09:49

Robin

"Robin Barker is a mathematician. ... All highly skilled in their respective fields and clearly accomplished bridge players."
0

#7 User is online   Cyberyeti 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 14,908
  • Joined: 2009-July-13
  • Location:England

Posted 2011-November-29, 09:55

Looks like no case for adjustment unless some other UI was floating around.

4/5 are just cues from S's point of view and 5 a signoff missing a club control.

Why N bid 5 is less clear and I'd like to hear his version of why, but I suspect since 4 looks like a signoff, he may have diagnosed what happened when partner bid over it.
0

#8 User is offline   billw55 

  • enigmatic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,757
  • Joined: 2009-July-31
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2011-November-29, 10:08

View PostVixTD, on 2011-November-29, 08:48, said:

Result: 5(S)-1, NS -100

EW called the TD (again, not me) at the end of play, and asked for a ruling. Can you see any reason to adjust the score?

eh, I dont understand some players. Ops botched their auction and handed over an ice cold vulnerable game, at IMPs even. What more can they want?
Life is long and beautiful, if bad things happen, good things will follow.
-gwnn
1

#9 User is offline   Pig Trader 

  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: 2009-August-03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derbyshire, England

Posted 2011-November-29, 10:13

View PostOof Arted, on 2011-November-29, 09:27, said:

mmmm

James its not the same ruddy pair forn your nuber 1 is it

If so 60/30 em


No - This was from a different group - Honest, Guv!

Barrie :rolleyes:
Barrie Partridge, England
0

#10 User is offline   AlexJonson 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 496
  • Joined: 2010-November-03

Posted 2011-November-29, 10:31

View PostRMB1, on 2011-November-29, 09:39, said:

It is not clear if these were responses to questions or just a description of the calls.

I assume that only 3NT was alerted and no explanations were given during the auction, so North/South had no UI.

... in which case the only adjustment would be a fielded misbid for AVE-/AVE+,
but it looks like NS have already lost the comparisons by more than the relevant amount.


Is the 5H still treated as a fielded misbid, if there was no UI, and a concealed understanding is vanishingly unlikely?
1

#11 User is offline   RMB1 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,841
  • Joined: 2007-January-18
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Exeter, UK
  • Interests:EBU/EBL TD
    Bridge, Cinema, Theatre, Food,
    [Walking - not so much]

Posted 2011-November-29, 10:56

View PostAlexJonson, on 2011-November-29, 10:31, said:

Is the 5H still treated as a fielded misbid, if there was no UI, and a concealed understanding is vanishingly unlikely?


I was just trying to focus in on what the issues were, not suggesting that there was necessaruily a fielded misbid.

We could rule red fielded misbid if we thought the only reason for 5 was a concealed implicit agreement that 4 could be long (presumably, an implicit agreement based on opener having forgotten before).

This post has been edited by RMB1: 2011-November-29, 11:18

Robin

"Robin Barker is a mathematician. ... All highly skilled in their respective fields and clearly accomplished bridge players."
0

#12 User is offline   Ant590 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 749
  • Joined: 2005-July-17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 2011-November-29, 11:57

As other posters have commented, it seems that the following situation could be possible:

4:
North "transfer to your major"
South "bid your major"

4[hearts}:
South "this is my major"
North "partner has spades"

4:
North "I want to play here opposite your spade hand"
South "Cuebid agreeing hearts"

5:
South "Cooperating with the cuebidding auction, highlighting club issue"
North "WTF, either partner has slam try after making a limited opening, or he's forgotten system"

5:
North "Guess he's forgotten system"
South "Ok, neither of us have a club control, lets hope this isn't -1"

However, there seem to be two questions:
(a) Can slam tries me made after the 4 bid?
(b) Is the case that responder can make slam tries, but opener can't?

I wouldn't feel comfortable making a ruling until hearing NS's account of the auction, and the above questions. It could be the case of a fielded misbid, and North perhaps should have continued to bid 5 etc?
0

#13 User is offline   FrancesHinden 

  • Limit bidder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,482
  • Joined: 2004-November-02
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Bridge, classical music, skiing... but I spend more time earning a living than doing any of those

Posted 2011-November-29, 15:52

I agree with RMB1 that you might consider ruling fielded misbid, but NS have already got a far worse result than av+/av- so I would rule the result stands. Unless there was some explicit UI at the table, North's 5H bid is simply catering for a system screw-up, which indeed has happened. I can't see how EW can ask for more.
0

#14 User is offline   bluejak 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,686
  • Joined: 2007-August-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Bridge Laws, Cats, Railways, Transport timetables

Posted 2011-November-30, 03:29

View PostAlexJonson, on 2011-November-29, 10:31, said:

Is the 5H still treated as a fielded misbid, if there was no UI, and a concealed understanding is vanishingly unlikely?

No, but in this case it is quite likely: it just means he has forgotten before! :)
David Stevenson

Merseyside England UK
EBL TD
Currently at home
Visiting IBLF from time to time
<webjak666@gmail.com>
0

#15 User is offline   phil_20686 

  • Scotland
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,754
  • Joined: 2008-August-22
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 2011-November-30, 06:38

I cant understand any adjustment here. Seems like south's bidding is beyond reproach - he thought they were cue bidding hearts and respected the 5 level sign off.

To north souths bidding clearly reveals the misunderstanding - he basically appears to have opened 3N with a hand that can drive slam on its own when I havent promised any values, so its pretty clear he has forgotten and must think 4S is a slam move in hearts. Since that is AI, I can bid 5h.
The physics is theoretical, but the fun is real. - Sheldon Cooper
0

#16 User is offline   phil_20686 

  • Scotland
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,754
  • Joined: 2008-August-22
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 2011-November-30, 06:39

View Postbluejak, on 2011-November-30, 03:29, said:

No, but in this case it is quite likely: it just means he has forgotten before! :)


If they had a CPU north would have passed 4H....
The physics is theoretical, but the fun is real. - Sheldon Cooper
0

#17 User is offline   VixTD 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,052
  • Joined: 2009-September-09

Posted 2011-December-01, 12:25

Perhaps this one wasn't so interesting, as the only problem is whether there's been a fielded misbid, and as many of you have pointed out, EW haven't been damaged if there has, but I was interested to know what you think of South's actions. Like Phil, I couldn't see anything wrong with South's bidding if he was trying to cue-bid and then giving up when North denied a club control, but he might have just been making a bid that he feels is most likely to elicit a 5 response from North so he can pass safely. I too would like to have asked NS why they bid the way they did; there may have been an innocent explanation.
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users