BBO Discussion Forums: What to do with a hand like this? - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

What to do with a hand like this? 4-4 minors over simple raise

#1 User is offline   Antrax 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-August-30, 10:17

I'm not very good with constructing hands and I don't remember the real one where this came up. Generally I'm interested in the situation where bidding is opened on my left, partner passes, RHO makes a simple raise, and I have a hand I want to compete with, but without T/O double shape. So this could be a hand like the above, or 4-4 majors when opponents open and raise a minor suit, etc. The minors case is probably harder because I can't just agree "ELC" or something of the sort.
So, is there a way to compete with such hands? If 2NT is the bid I'm looking for, what does a strong NT with good heart stoppers do when the bidding goes the same way?

#2 User is offline   ArtK78 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, Poker, participatory and spectator sports.
    Occupation - Tax Attorney in Atlantic City, NJ.

Posted 2011-August-30, 10:25

You have two real choices: Pass and 2NT.

Pass would be the normal action on this hand, since you can't make a takeout double without spades and you don't have a minor suit you can overcall at the 3 level.

If you must compete, your only real option is 2NT for the minors. Obviously, this is not a classic unusual 2NT. But at least it gets you into the auction.

What would you bid with a strong NT hand in this position? Again, you have two choices: Pass and double. If you double, you will bid 2NT over a 2 response by partner, and you will have to decide what to do if partner bids 3 of a minor.

#3 User is offline   aguahombre 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2011-August-30, 10:40