BBO Discussion Forums: when you let opponents to redress - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

when you let opponents to redress

#1 User is offline   Fluffy 

• World International Master without a clue
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-November-11, 08:47

Opponent makes a classic mistake such as revoke, or passing not realicing partner has opened

if you let the opponent change the card without penalty, or change the pass to something else, (sadly common in many clubs), I have had some dreadul experiences with opponents later making blatant use of Information from the penalty card or the previous pass.

Is this considered UI?

#2 User is offline   aguahombre 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2011-November-11, 09:56

View PostFluffy, on 2011-November-11, 08:47, said:

Opponent makes a classic mistake such as revoke, or passing not realicing partner has opened

I have had some dreadul experiences with opponents later making blatant use of Information from the penalty card or the previous pass.

Is this considered UI?

Your dreadful experiences are AI. Platitudes come to mind, such as "give 'em an inch...", "made your bed...", etc. But, the fact is we all have let things slide; and we all have made our own judgements to not call the TD to our later dismay.

We eat it, and make a mental note that we were stupid; then we do it again. :rolleyes:

In the Bridgewinners article, Michael Rosenberg states what many have known: that he often lets things like this go. He does so in protest of current rules, and I am not sure that is a good motive for doing things. Nor is it a likely good example to set for clients.

Is the action we let be changed without applying the rules UI? We decided they didn't occur, and are at the mercy of those who decided whether to use the information. IMO, it is too late to be concerned about whether it is UI.