• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

GaLwood bidding system Need experts to help further develop it

#1 User is offline   fazzzoola 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2011-March-16, 00:29

My partner and I have been developing our own system, GaLwood, off and on, since November 2005. Current version is GaLwood III.

We need a few experts to lend their minds to upgrade it to expert levels.

More info on the web site: galwood.com

Please contact me if you're interested or if you know someone would might be.

Thanks,

Georges
Georges,

It's always easy when you know the answer.

#2 User is offline   Free 

• mmm Duvel
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Duvel, Whisky

Posted 2011-March-16, 02:59

Welcome to the forums.

I don't like to say it, but after giving it a quick look, I think you have to start all over again if you want to upgrade it to expert levels.
- 1 is way too overloaded and very vulnerable to preemption. Even a simple overcall may result in a disaster.
- opening 3NT with strong balanced hands is ridiculous
- there are hands with 18+HCP which have a 6+ card suit. Apparently you don't have a bid for these
- you lose all of your preempts which can be a great source of gains.

Am I right that you only play rubber bridge?
"It may be rude to leave to go to the bathroom, but it's downright stupid to sit there and piss yourself" - blackshoe

#3 User is offline   whereagles 

• Interests:Everything!

Posted 2011-March-16, 08:19

In general, you try and split hand types into two kinds of 1-bids. This isn't common, but it is possible to bid this way. However, the way you do it may not be the best. In particular:

- 1 is overloaded
- other 1x bids are underloaded
- the 2NT opening is too wide-ranging
- top card (AK) requirements on 1/2NT bids may cause you to be stuck without onpening bid for some hands, e.g. KQx KQx AQxx QJx (19 hcp, no 5 top cards to open 1NT)