BBO Discussion Forums: Learning precision, concerned about limit raises - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Learning precision, concerned about limit raises Limit raises in precision

#1 User is offline   SenseiCAY 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2011-May-01, 08:13

Hi, all,

First post here. I'm just starting to learn precision after a brief stint with 2/1 and about a year and a half of SAYC.

This question bugged me a little bit when I was playing SAYC, and now bugs me royally as I'm learning a precision system.

In SAYC and 2/1, a jump raise to 3/3 over a 1-level major opener is a limit raise showing 10-12 points and 4-card support, as I'm sure you know. With only 12-13 and otherwise balanced, opener would pass. With 14, it's a little sticky, but I'd probably raise to game (this is the part that bugged me...if responder has only 10 points, game is borderline, but still a good gamble, I think), and with 15+, we're going to game, at least. With 3-card support and 10-12 points in 2/1, the responder would bid a forcing 1NT and then go to 3 of the major on the next bid.

So in our precision system, major openings are 11-15 HCP and 5 cards. If my partner opens a major, what is my limit raise range? I've heard 10-13 with 4-card support, but that seems wide to me. Obviously with only 11, opener passes. However, 12 facing 10 is a shady game bid, while 12 facing 13 is a good bet for game, so it's very possible to miss game if I pass what I consider to be a minimum hand facing a limit raise, especially since there's no way to ask the responder to be more specific. Intuition tells me that 11-13 might work better, since it's effectively the same as 10-12 facing a 12+ HCP opening hand.

So here's the simple question: for you precision players, what's your limit raise description, and if not 11-15, what's your major opening range?

#2 User is offline   Free 

• mmm Duvel
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip