Posted 2011-January-02, 00:47

#2 User is offline   the hog 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Wagner and Bridge

Posted 2011-January-02, 01:59

View PostAntraxxx, on 2011-January-02, 00:47, said:

Is this a trick question? 1NT.
"The King of Hearts a broadsword bears, the Queen of Hearts a rose." W. H. Auden.

#3 User is offline   Antraxxx 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2011-January-02, 02:04

It's not a trick question. Maybe I should continue prefacing my posts with "I am a beginner" as we don't get to self-rate here.
I am asking because while I know 1NT doesn't promise a balanced hand and does give a correct point range, it has the disadvantage of possibly landing us in a 1NT contract, which I thought was likely to go down.

#4 User is offline   l milne 

• PipPipPipPip

Posted 2011-January-02, 04:03

View PostAntraxxx, on 2011-January-02, 02:04, said:

It's not a trick question. Maybe I should continue prefacing my posts with "I am a beginner" as we don't get to self-rate here.
I am asking because while I know 1NT doesn't promise a balanced hand and does give a correct point range, it has the disadvantage of possibly landing us in a 1NT contract, which I thought was likely to go down.

Your partner isn't going to pass 1NT when you have a 6-5 with a void in his suit. If he does, the opponents won't. If they do too, it might be the right spot.

1NT is more of a denial bid, making some noise without showing the values for a 2/1. It barely even suggests 1NT as a contract. If the alternatives in your mind are making some encouraging noise when you have a hopeless hand for partner, you better rethink that!

#5 User is offline   Antraxxx 

• PipPipPip

Posted 2011-January-02, 04:22

Thank you. Some followups:
1) Can 1NT really be the right spot? Assuming he doesn't have okay clubs, my hand is practically non-existent for 1NT, no?