BBO Discussion Forums: fifth seat insanity - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

fifth seat insanity

#1 User is offline   gwnn 

  • Csaba the Hutt
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 13,005
  • Joined: 2006-June-16
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:bye

Posted 2010-June-27, 12:04

unfavourable 5th seat:

p-p-p-1
???

xx
Axxx
QJ9x
Kxx

if you pass it will be

p-p-p-1
p-2-p-p
???
... and I can prove it with my usual, flawless logic.
      George Carlin
0

#2 User is offline   aguahombre 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 12,029
  • Joined: 2009-February-21
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. George, UT

Posted 2010-June-27, 12:08

double 1S, or stay out. Not a good plan to try what only Alvin Roth could do.
"Bidding Spades to show spades can work well." (Kenberg)
0

#3 User is offline   jdonn 

  • - - T98765432 AQT8
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,085
  • Joined: 2005-June-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 2010-June-27, 12:10

I like doubling 1. Passing is not awful but seems so wimpy to me. Doubling 2 I think is so much more dangerous than it looks...
Please let me know about any questions or interest or bug reports about GIB.
0

#4 User is offline   Bbradley62 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 6,542
  • Joined: 2010-February-01
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY, USA

Posted 2010-June-27, 12:11

I wouldn't pass over 1. Assuming I joined the table online in the pass-out position, I lead a diamond.
0

#5 User is offline   MarkDean 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: 2008-April-30
  • Location:Pleasanton, CA, US

Posted 2010-June-27, 12:12

I would double the first round (only because I am passed hand), but think pass then double or pass then pass are both fine.
0

#6 User is offline   Phil 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,091
  • Joined: 2008-December-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Texas, USA
  • Interests:Mountain Biking

Posted 2010-June-27, 13:34

Double the first time. It could be wrong of course.i I don't think passing is wimpy at all TBH.

After passing you must pass but neither decision is really that right or wrong and some believe that its actually safer to back in on these type of hands after the opponents have limited their hands and have found a fit even though we are a level higher.
Hi y'all!

Winner - BBO Challenge bracket #6 - February, 2017.
0

#7 User is offline   kfay 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,208
  • Joined: 2007-July-01
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Interests:Science, Sports

Posted 2010-June-27, 13:45

I'd rather pass. Especially if my partner makes modern 3rd seat openers. :P
Kevin Fay
0

#8 User is offline   Hanoi5 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,074
  • Joined: 2006-August-31
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago, Chile
  • Interests:Bridge, Video Games, Languages, Travelling.

Posted 2010-June-27, 13:56

I would have doubled the first time, and I double now.

View Postwyman, on 2012-May-04, 09:48, said:

Also, he rates to not have a heart void when he leads the 3.


View Postrbforster, on 2012-May-20, 21:04, said:

Besides playing for fun, most people also like to play bridge to win


Mi Blog

In all fields of endeavour emotion is the arch-enemy of judgement.

Kelsey
0

#9 User is offline   MickyB 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,290
  • Joined: 2004-May-03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, England

Posted 2010-June-27, 16:07

Pass. Pard hasn't opened in third, it's so unlikely to gain from competing here.
0

#10 User is offline   dake50 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,211
  • Joined: 2006-April-22

Posted 2010-June-27, 20:50

P-P-P-1S
??
Don't know this isn't their game, why blab "I have your missing A + K?"

P-P- P-1S
P-2S-P-P
??
Double as this feels a balance of power hand and all my stuff is non-spades.
0

#11 User is offline   aguahombre 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 12,029
  • Joined: 2009-February-21
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. George, UT

Posted 2010-June-27, 21:04

Phil, on Jun 27 2010, 01:34 PM, said:

Double the first time. It could be wrong of course.i I don't think passing is wimpy at all TBH.

After passing you must pass but neither decision is really that right or wrong and some believe that its actually safer to back in on these type of hands after the opponents have limited their hands and have found a fit even though we are a level higher.

To Dake: the Vugraph commentary on this hand included the fact that waiting until 2S comes back around means the opponents have a better idea what to do if you now balance.

South passed throughout at the table I watched. They were surprised he didn't double 1S, and only bad things or break-even things could happen if he balanced later for the 3-level.

3m undoubled down one for a push vs -110 at the other table if the defense was less than double dummy would be the best possible outcome.
"Bidding Spades to show spades can work well." (Kenberg)
0

#12 User is offline   hanp 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,987
  • Joined: 2009-February-15

Posted 2010-June-28, 06:43

I'd pass twice for sure. I like my passed hand doubles to be somewhat pure, and like kfay said, if partner doesn't open in 3rd seat and I'm 4333, we probably want to compete anyway.
and the result can be plotted on a graph.
0

#13 User is offline   hanp 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,987
  • Joined: 2009-February-15

Posted 2010-June-28, 08:20

Oh I thought we were 3343, I would double 1S with this shape.
and the result can be plotted on a graph.
0

#14 User is offline   jdonn 

  • - - T98765432 AQT8
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,085
  • Joined: 2005-June-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 2010-June-28, 10:45

Btw I was watching when this came up and Kit Woolsey was arguing doubling 1 as a passed hand was safer than doubling on 1 p 2 p p as a passed hand, while Joey Silver was arguing exactly the opposite. I think Joey was clearly wrong and his thinking was just completely old fashioned. The second auction forces you a level higher and the opponents have described their hands already, plus since you are a passed hand partner won't hang you if you double 1. Plus you do not always have a fit just because they raised, my partners seem to be 3334 every time.
Please let me know about any questions or interest or bug reports about GIB.
0

#15 User is offline   dake50 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,211
  • Joined: 2006-April-22

Posted 2010-June-28, 15:34

Anyone seriously hoping 3H,3m is the lowest contract we can play?
They may miss their 2S fit? Really?
The decision is they go 3S OR defend our 3H,3m. I want to put that decision on them. Yet not blab if this hand is near-game for them.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users