BBO Discussion Forums: This is legal - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

This is legal another thread on revoke

#1 User is offline   Flame 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,085
  • Joined: 2004-March-26
  • Location:Israel

Posted 2004-July-13, 08:01

A

This is the trump suit and when you play the A east revoke and doesnt play a spade, then you play 1 more spade and find out about it.
Now you can and should (its legal) play small trump and let him win, this will give you an extra trick because you will get 2 and lose one.
You can create varients of this when the diffender should make sure he wont win a trick with a card he could have played at the revoke trick.
0

#2 User is offline   Free 

  • mmm Duvel
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 10,728
  • Joined: 2003-July-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Interests:Duvel, Whisky

Posted 2004-July-13, 08:31

Djeez I really need to learn these rules ;)
"It may be rude to leave to go to the bathroom, but it's downright stupid to sit there and piss yourself" - blackshoe
0

#3 User is offline   kgr 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,341
  • Joined: 2003-April-11

Posted 2004-July-13, 09:00

Law 64 A 2:

A. Penalty Assessed
When a revoke is established:
2. Offending Player Did Not Win Revoke Trick
and the trick on which the revoke occurred was not won by the offending player, then, if the offending side won that or any subsequent trick, (penalty) after play ceases, one trick is transferred to the non-offending side; also, if an additional trick was subsequently won by the offending player with a card that he could legally have played to the revoke trick, one such trick is transferred to the non-offending side.

=> What will you gain by giving away a trick to the opponents? You will only get back the trick you gave away.

If this trick is the only they win after the revoke then you only get back one trick ( see "ADDITIONAL trick").
If there is another trick they win after the revoke then you would get back that other trick anyway (...and now also the trick you gave away).

==> Could be different if the revoke is outside trump suit and you still have to loose two tricks. If you now have the choice to loose one of these tricks to a 'revoke' card or another one (e.g. you still have one trump to ruff one of them) then it is best to loose a trick to the 'revoke' card.
==> Or could be different if trump is:
N: Axxx
S: KJxxx
After revoke by East it could be a good idea not to take the finesse. If East had Qxx then you will keep more trumps to (cross)ruff and East will have to give back the trick he make with the Q.
0

#4 User is offline   Flame 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,085
  • Joined: 2004-March-26
  • Location:Israel

Posted 2004-July-13, 09:19

Your right, my mistake, forget this ;)
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users