BBO Discussion Forums: Yet another rebid by opener problem... - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Yet another rebid by opener problem...

Poll: What's your second bid? (53 member(s) have cast votes)

What's your second bid?

1. 1NT (35 votes [66.04%])

Percentage of vote: 66.04%

2. 2D (9 votes [16.98%])

Percentage of vote: 16.98%

3. Other (specify) (9 votes [16.98%])

Percentage of vote: 16.98%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#41 User is offline   Winstonm 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Art, music

Posted 2008-August-13, 19:58

Jlall, on Aug 10 2008, 07:47 PM, said:

When I first started playing expert standard was 2C, now it has moved to 1N.

Yeah, well when I started playing we simply opened 1H - what problem? :blink:
"Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere." Black Lives Matter. / "I need ammunition, not a ride." Zelensky

#42 User is offline   shevek 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:whippets<br>anarchy<br>relay

Posted 2008-August-15, 05:59

2, since 1NT = 15-17

#43 User is offline   awm 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2008-August-15, 12:19

Definitely 1NT for me. This has the nice effect of limiting the hand, and I have pretty good methods over opener's 1NT rebid (as do many people) to handle game force and invitational hands. Not to mention that we find 2 when partner is weak.

One problem no one has mentioned is responder hands like:

Axxx
xx
xx
Kxxxx

This hand is a pretty easy pass (or maybe club signoff) after 1-1-1NT, and a pretty easy pass after 1-1-2. But I think this hand is worth an invite over a 2 rebid by opener, because opener could have 5-5 in the minors (in which case it really doesn't take much to make 5 on the ten card fit) or opener could have as much as 17-18 high (in which case 3NT probably cold).