Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Individual Tournaments Cowboy bidding

#1 User is offline   Kingside 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2008-May-27, 05:54

I am pretty new to BBO. I have played a few tournaments and have noticed in the Individuals you get some partners who just seem to do wild bids (presumably hoping to get a top). In practice you normally end up with a very bad score which can totally spoil the tournament.
Is there anything you can do about this ?

#2 User is offline   hotShot 

• Axxx Axx Axx Axx
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2008-May-27, 06:23

Your observation is right.

Unfortunately there is not much that can be done about it. Some people think that playing online is just fun and others take the competition so seriously that they want to win at all cost.

To win a tourney with only few boards to play, you need tops. To get tops, you need to play better, bid more, double more often or redbl if it makes sense.
Some overdo this and produce random results.
The only cure would be tourneys with more boards, so that constant good play is more important than a lucky result in one board. Longer tourneys suffer from player that leave mid tourney, producing random results because a sub, can't deliver a good performance if he has to start mid game, not knowing the tricks that were played.

#3 User is offline   Codo 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:games and sports, esp. bridge,chess and (beach-)volleyball

Posted 2008-May-27, 06:25

yes, relax...

In an idividual you face partner who have no idea what to do. They do these cowboy things.

You find people who try to bid on every hand.

There are guys who believe that there are not here to be dummy, so they nver raise your suit and bid NT as soon as possible.

You have to lif ve with them. They are there.

If you cannot stand to play these guys from time to time, don´t play Indies.
Kind Regards

Roland