BBO Discussion Forums: How does a beginner decide which conventions to learn? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How does a beginner decide which conventions to learn?

#1 User is offline   B_quillero 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2003-December-17, 19:04

As a beginner, I want to learn conventions to achieve better bidding. but when I see how many conventions and systems there are, I'm overwhelmed by the quantity. Many are mutually exclusive.

How should I go about choosing which conventions to learn? (I play SAYC.) It seems impossible to learn them all. Considering that it takes some time to learn a convention, I don't want to waste it learning a convention that I'll have little opportunity to use.

I don't have a regular partner yet, so I have no guidance at all. Any suggestions?

--Eric
:- :- :-

#2 User is offline   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2003-December-17, 19:08

An arbitrary collection of conventions is no match for a bidding system.

Find a good bidding system that matches your temperment and learn it as an integrated whole. If the system is well designed, the particular conventions employeed with complement one another. This should substantially diminish the memory load.
Alderaan delenda est

#3 User is offline   keylime 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: FD TEAM
  • Interests:Motorsports, cricket, disc golf, and of course - bridge. :-)

Posted 2003-December-17, 19:26

I wholeheartedly agree with my esteemed fellow player - gotta find something that works for you, then find conventions that you feel comfortable with. Also remember, style counts - are you aggressive or passive? Big question to ask self.

Remember not even Kearse's text or the multivolume texts floating around have every convention.