Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

EHAA Defense

#1 User is offline   pbleighton 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2005-September-20, 20:52

I haven't been able to find Eric Landau's book anywhere.
I have been playing 5 card weak twos for a couple of years,
and am curious about "EHAA defense".

Can anyone describe the EHAA overcall/double system for me?
I understand the 2 level overcalls are similar to the EHAA
weak twos. If that is correct, what do the one and three level
overcalls, doubles and cuebids mean?

If you have played it, how were the results?

Peter

#2 User is offline   pigpenz 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2005-September-20, 20:57

you could look for John Kiernans book on Kamikaze NT, it is very similar in structure with their weak twos.

#3 User is offline   mycroft 

• Secretary Bird
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2005-September-21, 13:40

Eric's book says "do what you like, but here's an EHAA-ish treatment that EHAA players tend to enjoy", and then describes:

1) 1-level overcalls are sound. Super 11s would be the minimum, expect a (n old fashioned) 13.

2) 2-level overcalls are like 2-level openers; 6-12 if a jump, could be stronger (potentially much stronger) if a non-jump. My explanation of these are "6-12 (or 6+), at least 5 cards in the suit, pretty much anything goes, but we're allowed to pass the insane ones" (unlike openers).

3) 3-level overcalls come in two types: single jumps and double jumps. Double Jump Overcalls are traditional preempts - If you want to use the EHAA 3-bid requirements, more power to you. Single Jump Overcalls are Intermediate - 5-6 losers is the guideline - to put some semblance of a cap of non-jump 2-bids.

4) Michaels and UNT promise good hands - again sound opening values (but here, of course, shape means 11 is usually a sound opener).