• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2.5k posts - introducing myself!

#1 User is offline   ahydra 

• AQT92 AQ --- QJ6532
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-June-18, 01:57

This is my 2500th post here. One-quarter of the way to Phil's milestone :) Thought I'd use it to introduce myself and describe my experience so far with this wonderful game we call bridge.

My name is Colin, I'm 32 and from the UK but I emigrated (permanently) to NZ last year. I much prefer it here in NZ (working conditions aside) and currently play bridge once a week at the Wellington Bridge Club. I'm a software engineer, working on telecoms systems. Here in NZ I continue to work for a sub-branch of the same company I worked for in the UK.

A book on bridge on my uncle's shelf piqued my interest in the game, and one night he sat down and guided me plus a couple of other family members through a hand. Having a grand slam bid and made against you on your first ever hand is probably not the most appealing introduction! At 19 I found myself in hospital for a while with a pack of cards, a book by Klinger and... erm, someone else I forget, and very little to do; I was hooked and my bridge "career" started soon after. Attempts to learn bridge locally failed due to the teacher being rather unwelcoming, so I joined BBO, and played mostly online and at Avenue Bridge Club in Hove where a lovely lady named Gwyneth mentored me a while. A highlight was finishing 4th, where on one hand I jumped to 4D, she looked puzzled, bid 5D and said "what are you going to do now, bid 6?" and I did - making! My first club win was also at that club, playing with a pickup partner. I made 6C on a crossruff on the last board, which remains one of my favourite bridge memories.