2/1 Assistance Please

#1 User is offline   briannz556 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Interests:Bridge, English Football, Mathematics

Posted 2018-May-31, 17:05

Hi
I'm new to 2/1 and had this hand at the table last night with East the Dealer:

In passing, we have Flannery in our arsenal which might affect suggestions. Our bidding started: 1H - 2C - but went stray after that.

In hindsight I was thinking 1H - 2C - 3S might imply a 6-4 distribution in the majors for East with 1H - 2C - 3S - 4H - 4NT etc being a possible pathway but would appreciate some offers of help.

My question, how do we get to a slam in H please?

#2 User is offline   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-May-31, 17:16

Does 1-2-2-2N-3 show 6 ? I'm not familiar with 2/1, but if it does it's easy after this.

#3 User is offline   helene_t 

• The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2018-May-31, 19:35

Cyberyeti's auction is fine. If you play Flannery, there can be no doubt that 2 shows extra values which makes it easier for West to decide to push for slam. W can now continues with 3 which in most styles is a cuebid for hearts, but if you are not sure if 3 has this meaning (it would not be crazy to play it as showing three spades and ask E to bid 3nt only with some help in diamonds), W can also just ask for aces. This is not recommended since from W's point of view, you could have two quick diamond losers. So maybe W should bid 4 which can only be a cuebid. Best is to discuss with partner if 3 is a cuebid in this auction.

You can also bid
2-2
2NT-3
which maybe shows the six-card hearts more clearly but doesn't show extras. Note that the 2 bid doesn't show six in most styles but the 3 bid will show six hearts since with only five, East would either have used Flannery or rebid 2.