BBO Discussion Forums: Lead against a slam? - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Lead against a slam?

Poll: Lead against a slam? (16 member(s) have cast votes)

Your Lead?

  1. A Spade (1 votes [7.14%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 7.14%

  2. A Heart (11 votes [78.57%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 78.57%

  3. A Diamond (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. King of clubs (2 votes [14.29%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 14.29%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 User is offline   Tramticket 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 661
  • Joined: 2009-May-03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent (Near London)

Posted 2018-February-12, 03:37


#2 User is offline   eagles123 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,546
  • Joined: 2011-June-08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK Near London
  • Interests:Crystal Palace

Posted 2018-February-12, 04:24

i'm boring I have a singleton so I lead it
"definitely that's what I like to play when I'm playing standard - I want to be able to bid diamonds because bidding good suits is important in bridge" - Meckstroth's opinion on weak 2 diamond

#3 User is offline   weejonnie 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 516
  • Joined: 2012-April-11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North-east England
  • Interests:Bridge Laws, Pedantary, Trolling,

Posted 2018-February-12, 07:54

1st rule of bridge - don't lead trumps against a slam. (In fact you should hardly ever lead trumps at all - it gives away a tempo and finesses off partner's honour, if he has one.)

Since West could have doubled for a diamond lead (presumably) you are down to a heart or the King of Clubs - A heart may disrupt communication, the King of clubs may set up a winner if declarer can't get rid of it.
The hardest director decisions inevitably are caused by the first failure to call at the appropriate time.
"Funny hand: both sides can make 4 hearts - VM"
After 85 years of bridge, the laws will finally define when dummy ceases to be dummy - at the end of play.
After a claim, play is now suspended, not ended. So dummy remains dummy, after a law 69 or during a law 70 ruling.

#4 User is offline   gszes 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,198
  • Joined: 2011-February-12

Posted 2018-February-12, 08:10

It appears the opps are missing at least one key card so a heart lead gives us a roughly 50% chance to set the hand almost immediately. If p has the dia A it is horrible for us and if they have the club A there is an extremely good chance all of our club strength is wasted. Leading a singleton is not always the answer but here it seems like a reasonable shot at setting a small slam and no I would not x because I am so sure this will work:))))

1st rule of bridge when you have a known long side suit well covered by all means lead trumps to try and cut down on cross ruffing efforts (sorry i couldn't resist that)

#5 User is offline   steve2005 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,284
  • Joined: 2010-April-22
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, Canada
  • Interests:Bridge duh!

Posted 2018-February-12, 08:29

If K sets up a trick opponents are terrible slam bidders, so i think you have only one choice.
Sarcasm is a state of mind

Share this topic:

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users