BBO Discussion Forums: Bidding from Mars - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bidding from Mars

#1 User is offline   gwnn 

  • Csaba the Hutt
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 12,815
  • Joined: 2006-June-16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Enschede, the Netherlands
  • Interests:matching LaTeX delimiters :(

Posted 2018-January-18, 07:08



First of all, GIB should adjust his ranges when there is a passed-hand double. In fact, there is no need for Leb or no Leb or anything here. 2, 2, 2NT, 3 should all be natural and they should be done on 99% of hands. If you passed on a 55 majors 10 count, fine, bid 3 over my double. Special hands with a major might want to bid 3M or 4M.

Second, what on Earth is this 2NT then 3 sequence? A cuebid for "my clubs" ??

Third, please don't complain about my bidding. It's really not the point. This should be a double that exists.
... and I can prove it with my usual, flawless logic.
      George Carlin
0

#2 User is offline   manudude03 

  • - - A AKQJT9876543
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,473
  • Joined: 2007-October-02
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2018-January-18, 07:53

Interesting enough, 3C apparently shows rebiddable clubs over 2NT. I guess that's the issue with the definition. I do agree with you in general though.
Wayne Somerville
0

#3 User is offline   steve2005 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,220
  • Joined: 2010-April-22
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, Canada
  • Interests:Bridge duh!

Posted 2018-January-18, 12:00

View Postgwnn, on 2018-January-18, 07:08, said:

First of all, GIB should adjust his ranges when there is a passed-hand double. In fact, there is no need for Leb or no Leb or anything here.

Gib did adjust range for double shows as 11 hcp 12 tp. as opposed to unlimited. Perhaps lower values should be included too.
Yes, Lebensohl makes no sense at this point.


Sarcasm is a state of mind
0

#4 User is offline   jammen 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: 2007-November-16

Posted 2018-January-18, 12:51

I assume you made 10 tricks when west led a club and then pitched a spade on the fourth round of clubs?
0

#5 User is offline   gwnn 

  • Csaba the Hutt
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 12,815
  • Joined: 2006-June-16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Enschede, the Netherlands
  • Interests:matching LaTeX delimiters :(

Posted 2018-January-18, 16:02

View Poststeve2005, on 2018-January-18, 12:00, said:

Gib did adjust range for double shows as 11 hcp 12 tp. as opposed to unlimited. Perhaps lower values should be included too.
Yes, Lebensohl makes no sense at this point.

Sorry, I meant that N should adjust *his* ranges. I mean (ignoring Lebensohl), say the ladder for 2H/3H/4H was 0-7/8-11/12+ total points, have them now be:

0-11/12-13/14+.

In fact, all (100%) of hands with a 4-card major should just bid it on the 2-level at this point. OK maybe you can do something else with a 4009.
... and I can prove it with my usual, flawless logic.
      George Carlin
0

#6 User is offline   jdonn 

  • - - T98765432 AQT8
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,018
  • Joined: 2005-June-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 2018-January-21, 12:46

I don't know if it's because of this thread or not, but this came up for discussion recently. In the next version I believe they are making 2N natural opposite a passed hand takeout double.
Please let me know about any questions or interest or bug reports about GIB.
0

#7 User is offline   gwnn 

  • Csaba the Hutt
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 12,815
  • Joined: 2006-June-16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Enschede, the Netherlands
  • Interests:matching LaTeX delimiters :(

Posted 2018-January-21, 14:28

View Postjdonn, on 2018-January-21, 12:46, said:

I don't know if it's because of this thread or not, but this came up for discussion recently. In the next version I believe they are making 2N natural opposite a passed hand takeout double.

Will N also find a 2S bid, despite the fact that he's nominally maximum for his range?
... and I can prove it with my usual, flawless logic.
      George Carlin
0

#8 User is offline   jdonn 

  • - - T98765432 AQT8
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,018
  • Joined: 2005-June-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 2018-January-30, 11:53

I don't know that that was specifically addressed, but the odds go up when the new rule eliminates the bid he actually made :)
Please let me know about any questions or interest or bug reports about GIB.
0

#9 User is offline   helene_t 

  • The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,347
  • Joined: 2004-April-22
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Hamilton, New Zealand

Posted 2018-January-30, 13:08

North has just too many bad experiences with human Robot Reward players who pass in first seat with random 15-counts.
You might speculate on the psychopathology of some posters but hating them seems excessive --- Nige1
3

#10 User is offline   Stefan_O 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 441
  • Joined: 2016-April-01

Posted 2018-February-03, 11:36

View Postjammen, on 2018-January-18, 12:51, said:

I assume you made 10 tricks when west led a club and then pitched a spade on the fourth round of clubs?


West is not allowed to lead anything, when North is declaring.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users