Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Robot partner trumps good trick Defeat snatched from the jaws of victory

#1 User is offline   svengolly 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2017-December-21, 18:32

4 card end position declarer in Hearts. As South, I lead the spade J which is known to be high. W (dummy) is irrelevant. Robot pard (N) ruffs my J low. Declarer (E) follows suit. I think OK, N has all trump left. N then returns a low trump, which E takes. E plays a high trump, N follows and I'm like WTH? If N doesn't ruff and simply pitches the D, declarer is off 2 because I get my J of spades AND N gets one trump (tenace). It was like the bot figured out the ONLY way to not score a single trick on the 4-card ending.

This is how I remember the position:

Is there a rational reason for GIB to do this? Am I missing something (I'm no expert)?

#2 User is online   smerriman 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2017-December-21, 19:02

The "usual" reason for this is when something unusual happens in the bidding (where humans don't have what they promised). If assumptions based on the bidding make the actual layout impossible, GIB may well have determined that ruffing was no worse than any other play. GIB has an annoying habit of taking bidding too literally - especially when there are other 100% lines that don't rely on bidding - but at the same time, that leads to good plays in other situations.

For example, if you've promised an extra spade that East actually has, then it makes no difference whether GIB ruffs or not.

You'd need to show the full hand to be sure (should be available after logging in via My BBO - Hands and results).

#3 User is offline   svengolly 

• PipPipPip

Posted 2017-December-21, 20:02

View Postsmerriman, on 2017-December-21, 19:02, said:

You'd need to show the full hand to be sure (should be available after logging in via My BBO - Hands and results).