Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Matches Applying for permission to play

#1 User is offline   Geoff103 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2017-November-24, 07:02

I admit to a huge degree of annoyance when applying for a seat on a two-tweams-match on BBO.

It appears that hosts routinely refuse players with an Acol profile and so-called Advanced and Expert players can be hugely aggressive and rude when one finally does get to play. For my part, I ALWAYS agree my partner's card even when I have limited knowledge of their system believing it will add to my understanding.

This is rarely reciprocated. Why are SAYC players so insular?

#2 User is offline   The_Badger 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Bridge, Chess, Film, Literature, Herbal Medicine, Nutrition

Posted 2017-November-24, 10:09

View PostGeoff103, on 2017-November-24, 07:02, said:

I admit to a huge degree of annoyance when applying for a seat on a two-tweams-match on BBO.

It appears that hosts routinely refuse players with an Acol profile and so-called Advanced and Expert players can be hugely aggressive and rude when one finally does get to play. For my part, I ALWAYS agree my partner's card even when I have limited knowledge of their system believing it will add to my understanding.

This is rarely reciprocated. Why are SAYC players so insular?

To be honest, Geoff, I think you are making life difficult for yourself. First, Acol is a marginal system outside the UK and us Brits have to accept that there are far, far more SAYC and 2/1 players than Acol players in the world. Also, agreeing your partner's card when you have limited knowledge of their system and methods, and then 'cocking things up' for want of a better expression will have a downside.