BBO Discussion Forums: Which Bidding Rule governs GIBBO lack of 2NT overcall - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Which Bidding Rule governs GIBBO lack of 2NT overcall GIBidding

#1 User is offline   virgosrock 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 2015-April-07

Posted 2017-November-04, 05:37



Help!! I think my 2nt then 3d is right. Direct 3d is 10-12 4+d. Just another $1.50 down the toilet if my 2NT-3d is correct.
Is it possible to determine the Rule based upon which GIBBO did not bid 2NT?

vrock
0

#2 User is online   sfi 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,146
  • Joined: 2009-May-18
  • Location:Oz

Posted 2017-November-04, 06:11

I'm not sure a 2NT overcall is going to get you to game either ...
0

#3 User is offline   steve2005 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,976
  • Joined: 2010-April-22
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, Canada
  • Interests:Bridge duh!

Posted 2017-November-04, 07:59

This is just an in between hand. If your more aggressive then your in game down often. You need 2 stopper to make 3N you can hardly count on that after a double
if Gib overcalls 2N you don't have enough for 3N
Sarcasm is a state of mind
0

#4 User is offline   The_Badger 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 804
  • Joined: 2013-January-25
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Bridge, Chess, Film, Literature, Herbal Medicine, Nutrition

Posted 2017-November-04, 09:23

I'm only guessing why GIB X'ed instead of bidding 2NT is that North has 4 s in its hand.
0

#5 User is offline   virgosrock 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 2015-April-07

Posted 2017-November-05, 05:56

View PostThe_Badger, on 2017-November-04, 09:23, said:

I'm only guessing why GIB X'ed instead of bidding 2NT is that North has 4 s in its hand.


I misspoke about game being missed. I was concerned only with why no 2NT overcall. Apologies for saying game had been missed.
What I do after a correct 2NT is up for grabs based on how I feel. It is not IMPs or MPs where I would pass in a flash.
In money bridge I might have taken my chances depending on the weather.
I think here 2NT-3C is stayman isn't it so no worries about missing 4H if it is there.
Methinks if GIB had a third spade would have bid 2NT. Weird but......

vrock
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users