BBO Discussion Forums: Two rules questions - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Two rules questions

#21 User is offline   gordontd 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,679
  • Joined: 2009-July-14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 2017-October-23, 00:17

L55?
Gordon Rainsford
London UK
0

#22 User is offline   pran 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,397
  • Joined: 2009-September-14
  • Location:Ski, Norway

Posted 2017-October-23, 03:35

View Postgordontd, on 2017-October-23, 00:17, said:

L55?

Thanks - that's it!
0

#23 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 16,584
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2017-October-23, 09:12

The way I understand the "either defender may accept" to be applied is that you ask both defenders simutaneously "If either of you wishes to accept or refuse the lead, say so". If only one of them replies, it takes effect. If they both reply differently, you use the choice of the LHO of the irregular lead.

You don't ask them sequentially, because hearing their partner's reply is too much like consultation, although a real consultation would allow them to discuss reasons for the choice. On the other hand, it's hard to ensure that they both really answer simultaneously, without the slower one hearing their partner's answer first. If you're really worried about this you could ask the first defender away from the table.

#24 User is offline   Vampyr 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,908
  • Joined: 2009-September-15
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:London

Posted 2017-October-23, 20:14

View Postgordontd, on 2017-October-22, 00:35, said:

I think there are two good reasons for having a regulation about this:
  • If there is any dispute as to who sits where, you have method to resolve it
  • It avoids a stronger player being able to select seats 1 or 2, or to sit over the stronger opponent, possibly differently on two different rounds when there are two rounds of arrow-switches



Yes. Do we have one?

View Postpran, on 2017-October-22, 03:34, said:

It would indeed appear so, but not without first calling the Director.
Be aware of Law 11A. (LHO rebukes dummy for getting involved, and demands ....)

If for instance Declarer understands from the attitude that LHO has a good reason for accepting the lead out of turn from Dummy he (Declarer) may in this situation have a good case asking the Director to allow the lead be made from the correct hand!


It is not within the Director's powers to do this. But if it were, of course the Director would refuse.
I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones -- Albert Einstein
0

#25 User is offline   gordontd 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,679
  • Joined: 2009-July-14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 2017-October-24, 00:08

View PostVampyr, on 2017-October-23, 20:14, said:

Yes. Do we have one?

We routinely issue this as a director’s instruction when announcing an arrow switch in EBU events. Clubs are free to make their own decisions about this.
Gordon Rainsford
London UK
0

#26 User is offline   Zelandakh 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,611
  • Joined: 2006-May-18
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2017-November-04, 05:03

View Postbarmar, on 2017-October-23, 09:12, said:

The way I understand the "either defender may accept" to be applied is that you ask both defenders simutaneously "If either of you wishes to accept or refuse the lead, say so". If only one of them replies, it takes effect. If they both reply differently, you use the choice of the LHO of the irregular lead.

And if one defender needs a moment to think before answering? To my knowledge there is nothing in the Laws to suggest that thinking should be disallowed (although some players do seem to think that is the case).
(-: Zel :-)
0

#27 User is offline   RMB1 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,763
  • Joined: 2007-January-18
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Exeter, UK
  • Interests:EBU/EBL TD
    Bridge, Cinema, Theatre, Food,
    [Walking - not so much]

Posted 2017-November-04, 07:18

View PostZelandakh, on 2017-November-04, 05:03, said:

And if one defender needs a moment to think before answering? To my knowledge there is nothing in the Laws to suggest that thinking should be disallowed (although some players do seem to think that is the case).

When one defender expresses an opinion and the other is thinking. the other can say "hang on", or "I'm still thinking"
Robin

"Because if they didn't vote for a lizard," said Ford, "the wrong lizard might get in. Got any gin?" (DNA)
0

#28 User is offline   Zelandakh 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,611
  • Joined: 2006-May-18
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2017-November-04, 16:26

View PostRMB1, on 2017-November-04, 07:18, said:

When one defender expresses an opinion and the other is thinking. the other can say "hang on", or "I'm still thinking"

Not according to the post that I answered.
(-: Zel :-)
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users