BBO Discussion Forums: Opening lead singleton trump - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1

Opening lead singleton trump

#1 User is offline   bravejason 

  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: 2015-May-12

Posted 2017-September-29, 15:20

If you are making the opening lead and have a singleton trump, under what conditions would you lead it?

I know that if you have multiple trumps and think declarer might have a cross trump or otherwise need to ruff several times then it might be correct to lead trumps. However, it is unclear to me if you would still lead a trump in that situation if you only have one of them.
0

#2 User is offline   The_Badger 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 797
  • Joined: 2013-January-25
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Bridge, Chess, Film, Literature, Herbal Medicine, Nutrition

Posted 2017-September-29, 16:02

Leading a singleton trump is usually a bad action that may compromise your partner's holding in the trump suit and makes things easier for declarer. So generally leading a singleton trump is frowned upon, but there are obviously exceptions to that rule depending on the hands.

The one situation where you must virtually always lead a singleton trump is where you have made a takeout double, and partner has left the double in for penalties. Partner should have a good trump holding, and it is essential to cut down declarer's ability to score trumps separately (usually by crossruffing) between the two hands.
1

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users