BBO Discussion Forums: Bidding a low-point hand with extreme shape - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bidding a low-point hand with extreme shape what would you bid?

#1 User is offline   wondermech 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2017-August-08, 01:48

Hi,

I am still quite new to bridge and I'm hoping to get some advice on better ways to bid the hand depicted below from the perspective of West:

All 4 players were playing SAYC, score system was IMPs.

In my case I was not sure how to respond and passed repeatedly. Due to a lot of interference by partner our opponents ended up in spades which was great for us, but I'm still not sure how to deal with this situation. Passing doesn't feel great since you know your partner has points, the hand likely has little value on defense unless South's 2 bid sticks, and if you have a good fit you might just be dropping a game. On the other hand with so few HCP I don't feel comfortable bidding past maybe the two-level without knowing more about partners distribution.

Is there a good way to display the shape of your hand, or get enough info about partner's to know you have no fit, without bidding too high? Or should I be content with passing here?

Was initially going to post this on the novice sub-forum, but then thought it fit better here since presumably other bidding systems might have different tools to deal with this situation.
Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I look forward to see what I could have done differently.

#2 User is offline   awm 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2017-August-08, 02:49

On this hand I think your pass is perfect. The main reasons are the combination of: 1. Weak overall hand 2. Length on the suit opponents bid 3. Weak suit of your own and no fit for partner.