BBO Discussion Forums: BBO locking when i switch tabs in Chrome - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

BBO locking when i switch tabs in Chrome

#1 User is offline   microcap 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 284
  • Joined: 2004-March-08

Posted 2017-August-07, 07:17

I have started having an odd problem with BBO.

Running Chrome, I often have several tabs open when on BBO. Sometimes, if i click to another tab to look at something, when I come back to BBO, it's totally frozen. I cannot log out through the site, but I can close the tab through Chrome, then re log-in. That always works, but it's odd.

Anyone else having this problem? Ideas?

thanks!!
0

#2 User is offline   ggwhiz 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,903
  • Joined: 2008-June-23
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2017-August-07, 08:24

No ideas but it's been happening to me too.
When Ghandi was asked what he thought about western civilization he said: I think it would be a good idea.
If two people always agree one of them is unnecessary - Carol Frank
0

#3 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 17,652
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2017-August-07, 09:58

The next time this happens, try resizing the browser window, and see if this unlocks it.

#4 User is offline   steve2005 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,629
  • Joined: 2010-April-22
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, Canada
  • Interests:Bridge duh!

Posted 2017-August-07, 10:38

Have had same thing happen on IE and Edge. I think also much earlier on Mozilla.
For me it seems to happen when my Wi-Fi isn't at it's best signal or had a lot of windows open but can't be sure.
I did try resizing and some other things and it didn't help.
Sarcasm is a state of mind
0

#5 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 17,652
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2017-August-08, 09:10

If your Internet connection is bad, of course Internet applications won't work well.

#6 User is offline   StevenG 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 569
  • Joined: 2009-July-10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bedford, England

Posted 2017-August-08, 09:47

I have had awful problems with Flash misbehaving in Firefox. Just moving the mouse would lead to a white screen, or part of the screen hugely magnified. It was always rectifiable by toggling the maximise button, but this could happen several times a minute at its worst. (I could use Chrome, but that seems to obscure the chat bar, no use when playing with friends, and I can't get IE to work with Flash at all.) After resizing, some of the things (profile box, BBONow) that I have moved around reset themselves to their original, unwanted, position.

There was a thread a few weeks ago in which Diana asked the poster if he had multiple tabs open. I have tried closing down Firefox and restarting it (with the existing tabs reopening as well, but occasionally being forced to lose some of the contents), not browsing in another tab when I'm bored, not moving the profile box, etc. around the screen, and it seems to almost solve the problem, but it makes BBO a pretty miserable experience. It seems to demonstrate that Flash is being affected by browser activity in other tabs, and I have never known any other Flash application behave that way.
0

#7 User is offline   ggwhiz 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,903
  • Joined: 2008-June-23
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2017-August-09, 08:07

View PostStevenG, on 2017-August-08, 09:47, said:

It seems to demonstrate that Flash is being affected by browser activity in other tabs, and I have never known any other Flash application behave that way.


That might be it. I tried last night with a 2nd tab open following a baseball game and when it refreshed either with scores or a pitch when watching 1 particular game it was often an instant freeze on BBO.
When Ghandi was asked what he thought about western civilization he said: I think it would be a good idea.
If two people always agree one of them is unnecessary - Carol Frank
0

#8 User is offline   microcap 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 284
  • Joined: 2004-March-08

Posted 2017-August-09, 11:47

thanks to all, it appears that BBO should look into this?
0

#9 User is offline   barmar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 17,652
  • Joined: 2004-August-21
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2017-August-10, 10:21

View Postmicrocap, on 2017-August-09, 11:47, said:

thanks to all, it appears that BBO should look into this?

Our primary development effort is going into replacing the Flash client.

If something has broken in Flash itself, there's not likely to be much we can do about it.

#10 User is offline   fromageGB 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,363
  • Joined: 2008-April-06

Posted 2017-August-10, 14:31

Not related to BBO or flash, when using Firefox I too have many times had freezes and erratic behaviour with multiple tabs open. That's one of the reasons I switched to chromium (Chrome on windows) where I have never had a problem.
0

#11 User is offline   microcap 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 284
  • Joined: 2004-March-08

Posted 2017-August-21, 08:26

View Postbarmar, on 2017-August-10, 10:21, said:

Our primary development effort is going into replacing the Flash client.

If something has broken in Flash itself, there's not likely to be much we can do about it.


Thanks, the resizing tip seems to work for me in case that's helpful info
0

#12 User is offline   AugustaDan 

  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 2018-January-02

Posted 2018-January-02, 13:43

I have a recommendation for fixing the freeze problem. In Chrome when you are on BBO, in the address bar to the left of the www.bridgebase.com you can see either a lock or an i with a circle around it. Click on this. Change as many settings as you can to "allow". It's okay because it only affects the BBO website. You don't want to do this with websites you're unsure you can trust. After you change your settings, be careful not to change them back to default on the way out, you should be good to go.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users