BBO Discussion Forums: Odd Results in People vs. People tournaments - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Odd Results in People vs. People tournaments

#1 User is offline   zdas04 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2017-May-25, 10:43

I'm new to BBO, and have only played two tournaments where my partner was a person. I understand that every four hands the pairs change. Yesterday on the last hand of two of the three rounds one person bid REALLY slowly and got to an impossible contract (7C in one contract missing the AK of clubs). Then they played REALLY slowly and the round timed out. The hand showed up as an average for a few seconds and then there was a message that the director had changed it to making the contract. Both times. Does anyone have any idea why that happened and how to protest/stop it? If you don't finish it should be an average, right?

#2 User is offline   billw55 

• enigmatic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2017-May-25, 11:09

Ideally the director would view the hand, make a judgment, and assign a fair result. In your case, 7-2. But in practice I suspect they are too busy, or simply too lazy to bother.
Life is long and beautiful, if bad things happen, good things will follow.
-gwnn

#3 User is offline   olegru 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Interests:Play bridge, read bridge, discusse bridge.

Posted 2017-May-25, 12:06

In paid tournaments, like ACBL speedballs, Directors are doing the job and assigning what needs to be assign. Sometimes they made mistakes (rarely) and you need to chat TD asking to review the adjustment.

In free tournaments could be everything.

#4 User is offline   diana_eva 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2017-May-25, 14:36

You can review the hand by clicking My BBO, then Hands and Results. Find the tournament and the hand and check whether it was adjusted wrongly.

I can only see one 7C adjusted in your recent hands and it was making, there was no AK missing.