• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

find an honour play 6H

#1 User is offline   manudude03 

• - - A AKQJT9876543
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2017-April-29, 03:01

This was from a daylong tourney (MPs). Opps are robots. You get the 6 lead. You can assume 2/4 leads or low from any 3. Plan the play.

When you draw trumps:
Spoiler

Wayne Somerville

#2 User is offline   FelicityR 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2017-April-29, 05:47

I'm no expert but the only inference I can surmise that if LHO has all 4 trumps (as per the spoiler) and the A, he (or 'it' being a robot) would have led the A against the small slam, knowing that an experienced South wouldn't have employed Blackwood with a void in his hand, and North could have splintered with a void/singleton instead of bidding 4.

To lead an unbid suit, to me, suggests that East holds both the Q and A.

p.s. I have no idea how artificial intelligence thinks but that is how I think (rightly or wrongly).

#3 User is online   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2017-April-29, 06:07

My inclination is to play For W to have A or less likely on that lead Q to drop. Top trump from dummy, AQ, small diamond towards dummy for the fork. If K holds, I can draw trumps, pitch my diamond on K and unless W has 4 spades to the Q along with his 4 hearts I'm fine, if he flies the ace, 2 spades go west on a club and a diamond.

#4 User is offline   sfi 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2017-April-29, 06:45

Isn't it better to try and fork East? As Felicity points out, West might have led the ace, but also East has 13 vacant spaces to West's 9.

So, win the spade, HK, unblock the clubs, H to dummy, beer card. Hope.

Now if East wins the DA and leads the spade I can win in dummy, play the DQ and draw trumps ending in dummy.

If I trust East has the SQ I can even draw all the trumps before playing the first diamond.