BBO Discussion Forums: How to devalue doubleton and singleton honours? - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

How to devalue doubleton and singleton honours? How to adjust the 4-3-2-1 points downwards for short suits

#1 User is offline   OldGranton 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2017-April-04, 07:44

As a beginner, I'm fine with the 4-3-2-1 valuation. But it would be nice to know how to adjust these values downwards for very short suits. For example, a singleton King.

The clearest statement I've seen, which is immediately challenged, is here:

https://en.wikipedia...Hand_evaluation
in the section "Negative/positive features"

- Samuel Stayman recommended deducting one HCP for K-Q, K-J, Q-J, Q-x, J-x Q-x-x, J-x-x holdings, this is now considered extreme.

Well, even an idiot like myself can see that deducting a whole point from J-x-x would make it equal to x-x-x. Surely the J is worth more than an x?

So here's my question: how about only deducting 0.5 points from Stayman's recommendations?

In that case, one honour combination makes no difference to the HCP, since we can't open on 11 1/2 points (playing Acol, and ignoring the Rule of 20, 19, etc, for the moment).

But two such honour combinations would reduce the HCP by 1 point in 4-4-3-2, and 5-4-2-2 hands. That one point now makes a difference in opening, responding, raising, etc.

I would be grateful for any advice on how to handle the honour combinations mentioned by Stayman, and also the singleton K, Q, and J.

BTW: things like LTC, Zar, Kaplan & Rubens, etc, are a bit over my head at the moment :-)

Thanks.

-----------------------------

Added:

I should probably have been honest enough earlier to admit that there's a key message missing from my OP. I thought the replies were beginning to dry up, but they're still coming.

The key message is that my entire OP should apply only to the OPENING bid.