• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Any chance of 5D here?

#1 User is offline   661_Pete 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2017-January-27, 15:36

This was a fairly spectacular deal:

West led a spade to K and A. I drew one trump to which both followed and then played Q and 10 of spades, hoping to ruff in dummy. Alas! W ruffed with the Q. One down.

As I see it the only way of making as the cards lie is to lead a hoping west will take the A and will then lead a second . Is this a better guess than the one I took? Surely West - noticing East's K, will place me with the Q and hence not continue?

I'm not very good at weighing up the odds, I just assumed East's double might show more than a singleton .

#2 User is online   Cyberyeti 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2017-January-27, 16:19

No harm in leading a club anyway, if W wins, he may lead a trump, then a good guess and a spade finesse will get you home. Might also lead a spade in the hope that his pd has KJ10.

#3 User is offline   GrahamJson 

• PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2017-January-28, 04:55

On the bidding leading a club does not look a good idea as you would expect east to hold the ace. Plus of course it still won't make even if west has the ace provided there isn't a misdefence.

Trying to ruff a spade looks reasonable. The only alternative is to run all your diamonds, coming down to a four card ending. The hope is that east has all the outstanding high cards, reasonable on the bidding, and comes down to Kx A - A. Then exiting with a club forces a spade return. This of course doesn't work as the cards lie, but does if east has KJxxxx AKQ X Axx or similar. (It also works if east is missing K or Q of hearts and doesn't discard the ace.)

#4 User is offline   GrahamJson 

• PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2017-January-28, 05:06