Posted 2017-February-12, 05:55
"How may I help"
"West has opened the auction when it was my turn."
"OK, you have two options: you may accept the call, in which case the auction proceeds as usual, or you may refuse to accept the call, in which case it is withdrawn and the auction reverts to you. East may call what he likes at his turn, but mustn't make use of the fact that West has called out of turn and when the auction reaches West then he will either make a comparable call (one with the same, similar or more precise meaning, or with the same purpose), in which case the auction procedes (but you are protected should you be damaged as a result of the inadmissable call) or will be free to make any call, in which case East will have to pass at his next turn and there may be lead penalties."
"How do I know whether West will have available a comparable call, since there will be three calls before it is his turn?"
"I refuse to accept the call."
OK - I can't see any alternative but for the director to remain at the table since he is going to have to find out whether West has a comparable call in a few minutes (and his presence may encourage East to not take advantage of the UI). It is then that he is going to have to take West away to see whether he has a comparable call available. (I used 'precise' because I think that is more understandable than "defines a subset of the possible meanings attributable to the withdrawn call, or")
Note that the 'compelled to pass' is now always only for one round for partner after a BOOT (but not for an IB - why not?)
With regard to law 16, the director is going to have to watch out if the partner makes a call that enables their partner to make a comparable call, when an alternative may not.
The hardest director decisions inevitably are caused by the first failure to call at the appropriate time.
"Funny hand: both sides can make 4 hearts - VM"
After 85 years of bridge, the laws will finally define when dummy ceases to be dummy - at the end of play.
After a claim, play is now suspended, not ended. So dummy remains dummy, after a law 69 or during a law 70 ruling.