BBO Discussion Forums: How improve play of hand? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How improve play of hand?

#21 User is offline   msjennifer 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Cricket,Photography,Paediatrics and Community Medicine.

Posted 2016-December-14, 08:27

View Postbmonger, on 2016-December-12, 19:19, said:

Hi All,

I hope this question isn't too general, my apologies if so. I'm a relative newbie, and I like to play the robot duplicate(MP & IMP) games. Gives me a priceless opportunity to compare my play against better players on the same hands!

What I note is that my bidding isn't too bad, I get roughly the same bids as the better players roughly 75% of the time. I'm working on improving this aspect and making progress.

At the same time, the results show that I'm getting clobbered on the play of the hands. Every time I'm pleased that I've made a 3NT contract, the better players will make +2 or 3.

I've worked through the Seagram/Bird book and learned a lot from it. Other than more reading and practice, can anyone offer any suggestions of how I might improve in this area? I DO make a plan up front for every hand, but when I look at the results, most of the time I don't have a clue as to how the better players have squeezed out the extra tricks. I do know that I'm not yet great at analyzing the bidding and identifying the 'danger hand', but so often there isn't any information if the bidding.

I apologize if I'm wasting anyone's time, but any suggestions would be appreciated!

I can recommend books which have helped me a lot. 1)Bridge play from A to Z by George Coffin.2) Endplays in bridge by G S Coffin 3)SureTricks byG S Coffin4) Winning Defence by Brown.This last named book on Defence is a true Classic and explains in full detail the logics of defense.

#22 User is offline   bmonger 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2016-December-14, 13:57