Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

MP/IMP

#1 User is offline   wfinger 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2016-October-06, 07:29

I see the terms MP and IMP used frequently.
What do they stand for and mean?
I am a novice who just started taking classes and playing in January.
Thanks,
Update:
I spent some time looking at General Bridge Forum FAQ today and they covered this question in detail.
Sorry for asking before doing a decent search on my own.

#2 User is offline   Kaitlyn S 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2016-October-06, 07:58

View Postwfinger, on 2016-October-06, 07:29, said:

I see the terms MP and IMP used frequently.
What do they stand for and mean?
I am a novice who just started taking classes and playing in January.
Thanks,

MP and IMP refer to the form of scoring.

MP = matchpoints. You get one mtchpoint for every pair your score beats and one-half matchpoint for each pair you tie. Note that very small differences in the score can translate to huge matchpoint differences. For example, say these are the 7 scores in a 7-table game:

Pair 1: N-S 4S making 5 +450
Pair 2: N-S 4S making 5 +450
Pair 3: N-S 4S making 5 +450
Pair 4: N-S 4S making 5 +450
Pair 5: N-S 3NT making 5 +460
Pair 6: N-S 4S making 5 +450
Pair 7: N-S 4S making 5 +450

Pair 5 got a higher score than any of the other N-S pairs and receives six matchpoints, while each of the other six pairs tied five other pairs and got 2 1/2 matchpoints. If the score was based on total points or IMPs (as we'll see) the difference would be negligible.

IMPs is usually used when comparing two scores (frequently two teams of four where N-S at table 1 are teammates with E-W at table 2.)

You take the difference in the scores and convert it using an International Match Point (IMP) scale.

The following link contains an IMP scale as well as a brief description of how team games work.