BBO Discussion Forums: Opening with very little - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +

Opening with very little

#1 User is offline   woodych 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2016-March-10, 07:14

I am a beginner trying to improve my game by playing in BBO free tournaments and watching other players bid and play.

I am coming across many hands now where my partner opens 1 in a suit and I have maybe 11-15 face card points and assume it is game on.

At the end of the hand we have gone down having clearly overbid because my partner opened with 7-10 face card points on the basis of having a 5 card suit.

I have always been advised only to open (rather than a response bid) with at least 11+ face card points otherwise I am giving my partner the wrong signals.

It has now got to the point where I can no longer assume my partner will have what I would call opening points so I afraid to bid with what I have.

Can anyone please confirm if it is ok to open with so few points just on the basis of having 5 in a suit?

Thank you
Peter

#2 User is offline   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2016-March-10, 07:33

Unless you and partner have agree otherwise, standard methods generally assume that players will have the equivalent of 10+ HCPs if they are opening in first or second seat.

Some players may choose to open a bit lighter in 3rd seat seat.
Alderaan delenda est

#3 User is offline   billw55 

• enigmatic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2016-March-10, 07:45

Also, high card points are not the only means of evaluating a hand. For example:

KQJTx
Axxx
x
xxx

is a fine hand that I would open 1 in any seat. However,

Kxx
Qxx
KJxxx
Qx

has one HCP more, but nevertheless is a worse hand that I would pass in first or second seat.
Life is long and beautiful, if bad things happen, good things will follow.
-gwnn

#4 User is offline   woodych 

• PipPip