Matchpoins. Table Result 6♠X-1 EW +200. Opening lead K♠.
The relay auction at a North London club took so long that West, one of the club's weakest members, had time to order a pot of tea, which arrived as South was considering whether or not to bid a slam. The tables were relatively small, and with a full house there were no side tables. As the waitress was putting the pot on the table, she accidentally touched West's right hand with the pot, and he, known as RR, jumped and dropped the king of spades onto the table. The TD was called and ruled, perhaps wrongly, that it was now an MPC and that East was silenced throughout but West could bid anything he liked. South, who looks and behaves like the Secretary Bird, jumped to 6S, and RR, who was a bit flustered, decided to double, despite the risk of a correction to 6NT. This ended the auction, and West was forced to lead the king of trumps, but his excellent spade pips meant that the contract still had no play.
SB was apoplectic with rage. "You could have been aware that the infraction of exposing the king of spades would cause declarer, who knew that his partner had the queen of spades, to jump to slam." he ranted at RR. "Damage exists when, because of an infraction, a non-offender gets a worse score than would be the case if the infraction had not occurred". "Even someone with your level of intelligence could tell that you had two likely trump tricks", he continued. "Director, please", he bellowed. The TD arrived but decided that this was just rub of the green, in that someone of RR's ability could not have pulled this off as a coup. "Also", SB continued, "there was TD error in that the king of spades should not have been designated an MPC, and I should have been obliged to consider it UI from an external source". "The TD should have decided the board was unplayable and awarded both sides average plus instead of the zero I ended up with".
"Nice lead, partner", chipped in Charlie the Chimp, East. "A small spade would have been fatal, and you were safe enough in doubling a run to 6NT as well, as I am sure you would have led the king of spades against that."
How would you rule?