• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Double Dummy Solver

#1 User is offline   1eyedjack 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2015-December-24, 17:34

Many of you will be aware of the Windows-based software Double Dummy Solver by Bob Richardson et al at Bridge Captain; a utility that enormously enhances my BBO experience.

Unless you have been checking back to the download page regularly you may not be aware that over the last few months it has been going through a flurry of upgrades. The one feature lacking in the software is an auto-check for upgrades when loading the program so unless you remember to check manually you may be unaware. I must remember to suggest that to Bob. I am not a programmer but it strikes me as not too hard to do and is pretty standard.

Anyway, the current version at the time of writing this is 11.28a.

I will not go into all the features and bug fixes over the last few months. Clearly they had to react to the requirement to enter a password to get to the MyHands download site, and that bit remains a bit cumbersome, but it works.

It now saves files in .sql format instead of .pbn (for speed reasons when working with large data files). But it will read .pbn files so no downside really.

What prompted me to give the heads up here is the changes made to the "diagram mode" of hand presentation on the screen; one of the more recent enhancements.

When actually playing on BBO I find the diagram mode vastly superior. It reduces the exposure to mis-clicks and it reduces the complexity of decoding the hand in the brain. Personal choice. There are those who disagree. I can't understand their logic but it is a free world.