BBO Discussion Forums: Bridge novice here - how to practice and improve? - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +

Bridge novice here - how to practice and improve?

#41 User is offline   pdmunro 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2015-December-21, 09:38

My favourite bridge software is Double Dummy Solver http://www.bridge-ca...downloadDD.html (free). I have just downloaded the latest version and I see that it comes with some warning that "This program is not commonly downloaded and could harm your computer". That is a very unfair warning. The program has been a labor of love by Bob Richardson for many years. It is like the GIB analyser that BBO uses, but it runs on your desktop. It looks at all four hands and shows you best plays and all makeable contracts.

I also endorse Paul Marston's "Principles of Card Play". It's the only bridge book that I have read in it's entirety (a number of times). It's a book for beginners. It goes through the fundamentals. Some chapters include:
Play in No Trumps
Long Suit Tricks; Establishing Tricks by Finesse; Hold-Up Play; Entries; The Danger Hand; ...
Play in A Suit Contract
Drawing trumps; Discarding Losers; Setting up Side Suits; Entries in Suit Contracts; ...
Defence
Second hand Play; Discards; ...

These are the fundamentals of correct card play. You can expect to get all the exercises correct with a little thought.

I see that it is selling in the US for exorbitant prices. Perhaps, you can get it shipped from the author in Australia at a cheaper price, http://www.grandslam....com/books.html Or maybe get a second-hand copy.

I think the number #1 card play book is "Card Play Technique or the Art of Being Lucky" by Victor Mollo & Nico Gardener. I could never quite get all the way through it, but I have used it as a guide to my improvement. When I came back to it after a few years break, I found the end of chapter exercises easier. That means I must be improving, right?
Peter . . . . AKQ . . . . K = 3 points = 1 trick