• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

What should I have done?

#1 User is offline   oryctolagi 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2015-November-11, 15:01

This is how the bidding started:

I felt I had enough diamonds to support a 2/1. I'm no expert in bidding, but I thought that 3 in that position would mean a control of some sort, or else a void. Having nothing more to show I bid 3NT and was left in it. Thus far, what have I done wrong? Should I have just passed and let partner take care? All advice welcome!

#2 User is offline   phil_20686 

• Scotland
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2015-November-11, 15:30

usually a cue bid in this situation is asking rather than showing. So without a spade stopper you should not bid 3N. I think you can pass 3S X though. No where to go really. 3D is not bad though, esp if you are not playing 2/1.

In fact, if you are not playing 2/1 its probably clear to bid 3d.
The physics is theoretical, but the fun is real. - Sheldon Cooper

#3 User is offline   billw55 

• enigmatic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2015-November-11, 15:44

A 2/1 call is usually bid on 5 card suit or longer, so normally raising with 3 cards is ok. However there are a few hands where partner might choose 2 with only 4 cards, such as 3244 shape. If east had passed, I think 3 is clear, but after the 2 bid you can also consider pass.

I would definitely take 3 in this auction as a stopper ask. You don't have one, and east was kind enough to double, relieving you of your obligation to bid. So I would pass.
Life is long and beautiful, if bad things happen, good things will follow.
-gwnn

#4 User is offline   oryctolagi 

• PipPipPipPip

Posted 2015-November-12, 06:04

Thanks for the tips. This was the full deal:

OK I was lucky the spades were 5-5, so I only went 2 down. Not so lucky E-W didn't double giving me a chance to escape to diamonds - 5 makes on this deal if played by north.