Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Hello and a couple of questions

#1 User is offline   oryctolagi 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2015-September-19, 13:57

I signed up for BBO some years ago but returned to the site only a few days ago.

I've not played bridge 'properly' since I was a student, nearly 40 years ago, so I've probably forgotten a lot. Since then, I've not had contact with any fellow-players. I was never a very serious player even then, so I'm looking for something very informal.

I've had a browse around and I'm thinking of using the 'join a table at random' facility, but I've got some questions.

Some online third-party reviews of BBO, say you have support for Rubber Bridge but I don't see any. I've found some older posts which say this is not supported. Is this still the case? I would prefer to play Rubber, with the additional feature of being able to bid from a part-score, but if it's not available I can live without it.

I only know ACOL, and I would be very much at sea if I found myself bidding with players using another convention - even the popular SAYC would quickly get me 'lost'. If I join a table at random, how can I limit myself to ACOL users?

Cheers.
Pete.

#2 User is offline   helene_t 

• The Abbess
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2015-September-19, 16:57

Hi Pete, welcome to the forum!

I believe rubber bridge is still possible in the downloaded windows version of bbo. With the web version you can play total points which is a bit similar. Most play IMP and if you play that you can use the same strategy as when playing total points.