BBO Discussion Forums: The EBU defines "duplicate bridge" - BBO Discussion Forums

• 4 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The EBU defines "duplicate bridge" The 75% Rule

#21 User is offline   Vampyr 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2015-July-26, 15:03

View PostTrinidad, on 2015-July-26, 13:51, said:

As the British say: "That would not be cricket". I wouold say that it wouldn't be bridge either (not even baseball).

As an aside (I am no expert in movements and I am travelling, so I don't have my books on movements at hand): is there a real problem with 11 tables playing 8 rounds?

Um... yes, because it is 72.7% of the boards.

Is it impossible to come up with a movement where boards are shared between tables

If there were one, Gordon would have come up with it.

(or, alternatively, where boards are duplicated after the first time they have been played)?

Rik

Irrelevant, because it's never gonna happen.
I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones -- Albert Einstein

#22 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2015-July-26, 15:03

Even if it weren't EBU's job to decide what's "fair", it's still obviously their job to decide how many masterpoints to award.

Instead of awarding NO masterpoints for these movements, perhaps it would be more reasonable if they just reduced the masterpoints.

#23 User is offline   lamford 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2015-July-27, 17:38

View PostFrancesHinden, on 2015-July-23, 15:10, said:

That's not what the regulation quoted by hotshot says. Is there yet another one somewhere else saying what you have written here?

The "regulation" on the EBU website was update on 23rd July, after Vampyr posted the OP, and it now states: