BBO Discussion Forums: Multi Squared, MuSHroom and Preempt-Preparatory Pass (meme-sized descriptions only) - BBO Discussion Forums

• 4 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Multi Squared, MuSHroom and Preempt-Preparatory Pass (meme-sized descriptions only)

#21 User is offline   nullve 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:partscores

Posted 2015-July-17, 03:42

View Posthelene_t, on 2015-July-17, 01:43, said:

In mushroom maybe 2s could be a sound overcall and bad hands use 2c.

Yes, why not. Another possibility (i.e. another customisation): 2S = 6+m4Om; 2N = 5+D5+C.

As for the legal issue it may well depend on the mood of your local tc but the concensus seems to be that wilcosz is bsc and this comes very close.

Again, I'm not a bridge lawyer, but Wilcosz guarantees a second suit while Multi Squared, even if it's weak-only version, does not. Also, when I define 2C as 6 M or 5M4+m, I'm just being explicit about not including 5M(332) or 5M4+OM as well, which I'm sure many would be more reluctant to open 2D (Multi) with than 5M4+m anyway.

#22 User is offline   nullve 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2015-July-17, 04:41

View PostZelandakh, on 2015-July-17, 02:14, said:

if we have a system with all calls from 2 up available for preempts, we can do better.

Maybe you're (obviously) right, but I'm ignorant of why.

how can anyone take seriously a system stating a pass from dealer showing less than opening strength and a hand unsuitable for preemption is something special?

Special or not, it also denies a singleton or void. I think it's an interesting idea which I haven't heard about before, that's why I decided to share it on BBF.

On the legality I believe you are correct as a Dutch team once tried to get a 2-suited multi past the WBF and it was rejected as BS.

Multi Squared is definitely not a 2-suited multi.

#23 User is offline   gwnn 

• Csaba the Hutt
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip