• 6 Pages +
  • « First
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

and who are you?

#81 User is offline   ArtK78 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Bridge, Poker, participatory and spectator sports.
    Occupation - Tax Attorney in Atlantic City, NJ.

Posted 2015-March-28, 18:19

View Postblackshoe, on 2015-March-28, 13:45, said:

This is going on in just about every area into which the government sticks its grubby paws.

In 1965, when I graduated from high school, the paperwork required to obtain a permit to build a nuclear power plant (that's build - after you build it you have to go through another paperwork drill to get a license to operate the damn thing), piled up, stood man high. In 1975, when I finished my Master's Degree, it filled a room. I can only imagine it's worse now.

And this is a bad thing?

#82 User is offline   mike777 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2015-March-28, 18:43

It can be a very bad thing in the sense more regulations, more power to regulators lead people to rely more on government to set standards that people equate with safety.

Government standards do not become the minimum standard they become the de facto standard, that is dangerous. The illusion that regulators are somehow, someway independent truth seekers who opt out of power or profit.

Again please do not read this as rant for zero regulations, more so the limits of government. More so the limits of giving great power to a few, very few.

#83 User is offline   blackshoe 

Posted 2015-March-28, 18:54