• You cannot reply to this topic

Core Worlds

#21 User is offline   billw55 

• enigmatic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2014-December-15, 08:08

View PostFluffy, on 2014-December-14, 04:43, said:

I am talking just about what I have heard, on ticket to ride 1 vs 1, you do only pick cards from the beginning, all your turns you pick 2 cards (never wildcard as it only allows 1 card), untill the end, the board is empty except for maybe the key cheap passages that cost 1 or 2 cards. And it is your task to read what is the opponent doing so you can block him on time while you can achieve your objectives.

This Core worlds, how long does it take for a game to be played?

Not sure how you can read what the opponent is doing if the board is empty? Well anyway, I certainly can't say I am an expert, so likely I am missing some things.

Core Worlds took us over 2 hours first game (2 players, learning rules). After that it takes about 1-1.5 hour + 0.5 hour per additional player.

View Postcherdano, on 2014-December-14, 07:48, said:

Ken, if your grandson has inherited some interest in math/logical thinking, he will love Hanabi - my new favourite card game.
(Note - it's not mathematical at all, so the above interests are a sufficient but not necessary condition for liking the game.)

I tried Hanabi once, it seems really hard. Everybody has to be really alert and thinking logically.

Life is long and beautiful, if bad things happen, good things will follow.
-gwnn

#22 User is offline   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2014-December-15, 08:32

FWIW, the following games are probably a bit dated, but lord did we spend a lot of time playing them

Illuminati
Cosmic Encounter
Axis and Allies
Alderaan delenda est

#23 User is offline   gwnn 

• Csaba the Hutt
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:bye

Posted 2014-December-15, 09:35