• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Is the Law an Ass?

#61 User is offline   Trinidad 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2014-November-01, 02:03

View Postdburn, on 2014-October-31, 21:32, said:

Has it never occurred to anyone that there should be? Or is it really the case that "the rules aren't designed to prevent out-and-out cheating"? If so, are not the rules rather feebly designed? Is there some other game or sport that has rules allowing "out-and-out cheating"? If not, why not?

I am no expert on the rules of soccer, but I doubt that the FIFA rules stipulate that you are not allowed to poison the food of the opponent's center forward, or threaten the goalie's wife and kids. They probably don't forbid installing big ventilation systems (operated by the home team's utility crew) behind the goals either.

Curious...

Rik
I want my opponents to leave my table with a smile on their face and without matchpoints on their score card - in that order.
The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds the new discoveries, is not “Eureka!” (I found it!), but “That’s funny…” – Isaac Asimov
The only reason God did not put "Thou shalt mind thine own business" in the Ten Commandments was that He thought that it was too obvious to need stating. - Kenberg

#62 User is offline   pran 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2014-November-01, 05:12

Curious, this.

The consensus appears to be that: there is no actual rule of the game preventing a player from participating if he has prior knowledge of the hands that have been dealt.

Has it never occurred to anyone that there should be? Or is it really the case that "the rules aren't designed to prevent out-and-out cheating"? If so, are not the rules rather feebly designed? Is there some other game or sport that has rules allowing "out-and-out cheating"? If not, why not?